Two Out of Three Ain't Bad
Friday, Jan. 05, 2007 at 8:37 a.m.

On this day in 1995, Connie Chung broadcasts Kathleen Gingrich's opinion of Hillary Clinton: bitch. We suspect it's merely a case of the pot calling the kettle black, and you can include Connie Chung in that.

My my.

Anyway, I�ve been posting my various travails with my manager, D, who has now apparently decided to release all vitriol possible in my direction. Which pissed me off for a while, and now I just shake my head and chuckle. The latest ordeal started when we got moved into new cubes, and now some of us have to share. The original idea was that �they� were supposed to put some sort of switch in so that we could each continue using the computers each of us had been using, with a single monitor. But that didn�t happen, as �they� either forgot or decided that was a dumb idea (I�m for the latter), so D was lamenting to me about this further indignity on my group (to which I wonder how much of this is just bluster, she got her own office after all) and I finally got annoyed and said, �So who is this mythical they, anyway, D?� She sputtered for a moment and went away, which to me answered my question perfectly.

So I discovered that my computer had only 2000 and C�s computer had XP, and I wanted to get the XP, -- which is the standard OS of the entire company, and that�s an important point to the story, so remember that -- so I needed to get help in setting up a profile on C�s system and get access to all the programs and documents that I use, which is not necessarily hard, but D seemed to think that all I had to do was type in my name and everything would magically set itself up (a la the mythical �they� again, I suppose), despite my protests that it wasn�t that simple.

Somehow, this whole scenario turned into a whole, �Valkyrie needs to have XP, so now we all have to have XP, because she demands it . . .� (insert your own best whiny-four-year-old-voice here) Um, why should I want to use an outdated OS when the entire rest of the company uses the new program?

Wow. I was so flabbergasted by the whole thing. I guess you had to be there. So now, every minor infraction � real or imagined � is now my fault, and I better have a damned good explanation for it. For example, here�s an email I got when I sat down this morning:

�What did you do with the steps to �Set-up Outlook? They were in the AH book yesterday when I showed them to you, now they�re gone.�

Well, if I wanted to split hairs, I could have said that she never actually showed them to me, but merely yelled down the hall that the instructions were in there. But I didn�t feel like doing that, so I sent her this reply:

�Under the A1 section of the AH book, the instructions for �adding a mailbox to Outlook� are there, and the instructions for �Outlook setup� are on the first page of the A3 section.�

In other words: �I don�t know where the hell you�re looking, but I looked at the table of contents and I looked where the table of contents told me to. And there they were.�

Yikes. I just hope that she uses the weekend to get baked or get drunk or get laid or all three so she can maybe work off all this excessive passive-aggressiveness. Man, I swear, working here is tough on the psyche sometimes. Like this is also tough on the psyche:

Maybe that�s tougher on the cow�s psyche. Sometimes, at work, I feel like this:

Obviously, I�m the chick with the oars. Of course, you knew that. And I�m sure that at some point you�ve felt this important to whatever company you were working for:

And then when they say, �Our employees are our most valuable asset� . . . Christ in a side car! We�re Human Beings, for crying out loud! FOO to the corporate world, I say! But unfortunately, there�s no money in being a hermit.

Oh well. What are you gonna do? Me, I think I�m going to use the weekend to at least get drunk and get laid. Yay me!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones