How Many Ways Can I Say I'm Sorry?
Monday, Sept. 04, 2006 at 9:06 a.m.

On this day in 2004, During a campaign stop in Naperville, Illinois, Presidential candidate George W Bush turns to running mate Dick Cheney and says, "There's Adam Clymer, major league asshole from the New York Times." Cheney responds, "Oh yeah, he is, big-time." Unbeknownst to the men, their comments are transmitted clearly to the television news feed. Rather than offer a mea culpa to Clymer, Bush later issues this non-apology: "I regret that a private comment I made to the vice-presidential candidate made it onto the public airwaves. I regret everybody heard what I said."

Heh heh heh heh.

Note how he says, �I�m sorry that you all heard that�, and not �I�m sorry that I said that.�

Because there is a big difference! Which irritates me quite a bit � not just the president and Bush in this case � but the gen pop at large. Have you ever noticed that no one seems to really apologize anymore? Most of the apologies I�ve heard lately are said in such a way that the �apologizer� is merely saying, �Yeah, I�m sorry that you�re an idiot, but meanwhile, I�m going to take no responsibility for myself.�

I remember one time, I got annoyed with a friend. We were both leaving a parking lot at the same time, and I was turning right, and she was turning left. She had a tall mini-van that I couldn�t see around, so I crept forward in my car to attempt to see around her. Well, she kept creeping forward along with me, continuing to block my view. Well, I got irritated and gave her a look, and she laughed and made her turn. The next time I saw her, she said, �Oh, Valkyrie, I saw that I made you mad when we were leaving yesterday, and I�m sorry. But it was fun.�

My response? �In that case, I do not accept your apology.�

You should have heard the ass-ripping I got for that! She still won�t speak to me. I couldn�t believe it. In my mind, what she told me was the equivalent of saying to someone you�ve just punched in the nose, �Oh, I was just kidding.�

Yes, I get indignant over strange things, in the big scheme of things, I suppose. But then, going back to president Cheney, how do you apologize for shooting someone in the face? That�s not covered in Emily Post.

And someone needs to apologize for this:

Oh, eek!

I�m probably way too uptight. Perhaps I should participate in yoga:

But can I do the Irish asanas instead?

*hic!*

Happy Labor Day, kiddos. I hope you all get a chance to relax and slip around a beer. And practice your yoga.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones