Fear THIS
Friday, Sept. 01, 2006 at 7:56 a.m.

On this day in 1941, The Third Reich passes a law requiring Jews to wear a prominent yellow star in public.

In related news, on this day in 1939, Hitler reluctantly invades Poland, but only after being provoked by warmongering Poles. The previous night, a Polish commando team shot their way into a German radio station in the border town of Gleiwitz, and broadcasted a radical call to arms against the peaceloving people of Germany. Except that it was all an elaborate sham engineered by Nazi general Reinhard Heydrich, dubbed Operation Canned Goods.

Sigh. I�ve got nothing for that. I�m not even in the mood to . . . oh, I can�t. I can�t get past the phrase wholesale cruelty in my head before I start to wonder how much things have actually changed.

Or not.

I still can�t look at images from September 11, 2001. I simply can�t. Is there anyone else out there with the same problem? For my own sake, I have to move on now.

No, I can�t. Why is it that Katrina damage photos make me that much angrier? We can�t even take care of our own, for crissakes, but we�re too busy colonizing the Middle East.

And even angrier than that, does anyone remember Hurricane Ivan? It hit Pensacola in 2004. Obliterated a good chunk of Santa Rosa Island, most people over there are still living in trailers, there are blue tarp roofs everywhere. And pretty much, everyone got left on their own. Whoo. Here�s your paltry insurance premiums, good luck with rebuilding from your foundation up. Make sure you get that tree off city property, and toot sweet.

GAH.

Still, in other news, remember my SIL of the Leaky Brain? She underwent (hopefully) her last surgery at the beginning of August. This operation was to replace an artery and a vein in her skull and neck to help replenish the bit of transplanted skull, so hopefully she won�t have a dent in her forehead anymore. Unfortunately, now she has a hell of a scar on her forearm where the vein and artery were harvested, and another hell of a scar going down her throat, because the artery (or the vein) had to go down her throat and the other one had to go from ear to ear over the top of her head. 13 hours in surgery. Damn, but that�s nuts. When I talked to my Bubba, he�s still doing the Valkyrie family method of staying in control by enunciating very clearly while talking very loud.

Don�t know why we do that. We all get that voice when we�re about to lose it. I�ve done that voice sometimes in the Hubster�s presence, and he just looks at me like a dog responding to a high-pitched noise.

Okay, I�m chilling a little bit now. Much better. And I think my voice went back to inside volume, and my speech is not so clipped. Again, much better.

Some days, though, don�t we all feel like the poor bastard who snapped this photo?

Always watch your backs. And always, always, fear the bat.

Have a drink on me, kids.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones