Defensive Driving Takes On a Whole New Context
Tuesday, Sept. 05, 2006 at 10:34 a.m.

On this day in 1989, during a televised speech from the Oval Office, President George HW Bush holds up a bag of crack cocaine purchased across the street at Lafayette Park. Three weeks later, a DEA official admits to The Washington Post that crack dealers don't actually hang out in Lafayette Park, so they purposely lured one to the spot. "We had to manipulate him to get him down there. It wasn't easy." Reportedly, the seller's first question was: "Where the fuck is the White House?"

Heh heh heh heh.

Conversation with Hubster:
the scene: driving home from the DQ

Valkyrie: Brrrumm brrum bum bum bum bum brrrrumm bum bum bum. . .
Hubster: What are you doing?
Valkyrie: Providing extra bass to the song on the radio. Brrrumm brrum bum bum bum bum brrrrumm bum bum bum. . . deedle deedle deedle deedle deedle deedle deedle . . .
Hubster: What are you doing now?
Valkyrie: The song needed deedles.
Hubster: Did you forget your meds again today?

The ubiquitous Hubster question: Did you take your Prozac, Valkyrie?? Sometimes he is such a one-trick-pony. However, I do have to give him some props, because yesterday I called home from work with this question:

Valkyrie: Did my mother just call there?
Hubster: Why?
Valkyrie: She just called me on my cell. (starts to cry) Aunt L just died.
Hubster: Are they going up to the funeral?
Valkyrie: No, they�re going to wait for J�s wedding in October. Why am I crying so hard? I didn�t even know the woman. I think I met her once when I was four or something.
Hubster: Really, why are you crying?
Valkyrie: It�s just so sad. Mom�s really upset. She only has two siblings left.
Hubster: But she was older and had terminal liver cancer.
Valkyrie: Yeah, I suppose.

Hubster does, on most occasions, have all the empathy of a rock. But when I came home, he had bought me roses.

I don�t know either Mom�s or Dad�s families all that well. Dad, for the longest time, had a rift with his two younger brothers, and they only spoke to each other when absolutely necessary. On my Mom�s side, she was the youngest of six children, and Aunt L, the next oldest, was 9 years older than my mother. Aunt D was 15 years older, and she more or less took over the raising of my mother when Grandmother H died. Mom was only 9 years old at the time. I was fortunate enough to have Aunt D and Grandpa live a block a away from us when I was growing up, but every other extended family member is somewhere up north. And my folks, for whatever reason, never took us on road trips to visit anyone, really.

Of course, I�m not much better, as I�m far-flung out here in dry-heat AZ while my parents languish in the 1000% humidity of FL.

Talk about humid:

Ever heard of High Tide, kids? Whoops! And speaking of whoops:

Now this schmuck has the exact opposite problem:

And here is the same sort of problem, revisited:

Now, this driver has some Extreme Auto Accident Talent, yo:

This is a time when Truth in Advertising just isn�t gonna work:

However, if the car is still driveable, well, then, maybe that�s okay. Perhaps this guy needs a sedan:

Ta!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones