I don't want to be saluted by the White Race
Tuesday, Aug. 08, 2006 at 10:20 a.m.

On this day in 1925, 40,000 robed Klansmen march down Pennsylvania Avenue in Washington, D.C. -- a bit less than 1% of total Klan membership.

Christ. Doesn�t that just make you feel dandy? What great contributions the United States of America have made to the world. Ever seen the movie Birth of a Nation? Gads. I can�t even say any more. I�m so . . . gah. I feel like a need a shower.

Anyhoo . . . Um. . . well, got nothing to say, kids. Emotionally, I�m doing a lot better than Friday, so that�s a really huge step in the right direction. Sometimes it actually does help to tell yourself to just get over it and do something productive. The good Hubster replaced the flooring in the Mary Kay room and built in new shelves in the closet for all my products, and I spent time reorganizing the whole inventory. And got rid of a lot of crap. That always makes you feel good, doesn�t it? To purge the unnecessary laundry from your life.

The big news in my area is of course, the capture of the alleged Serial Killers that have been terrorizing our fair valley for the past 15 months or so. The two in custody look like upstanding members of the KKK, in my personal arrogant opinion. However, at the risk of being labeled a liberal, I�m concerned that these guys are going to get lynched. All the police have been saying is, �These are definitely the guys�, and I thought our justice system, as skewed as it is, still had the �innocent until proven guilty� policy. And it is the onus of the state to prove their guilt, which makes me wonder what kind of proof they have. One of the guys, who gave an unprecedented jailhouse interview yesterday under his own steam, even said that he had not been contacted by his legal counsel, and he had been arrested four days ago. Hmm. On a high-profile case like this, you�d think legal counsel would be killing each other to get a crack at this one.

And then there�s two smoking initiatives slated for the AZ November Ballot. One supports a completely smoke-free Arizona, much like CA is now. Which would be fine with me (ducks before she gets pelted by burned-out butts). Look, I have sarcoidosis and it�s hard for me to be in smoky places too long, so there. I spent enough years not getting paid enough to inhale all the chemicals I had to endure, so I�m going to avoid smoky places if I can help it. However, there is also another petition out there called the �AZ Non-Smoker Protection Plan� which is endorsed by the tobacco companies. This ballot, if you actually read the damned thing, would allow smoking areas in all public places and certain businesses to allow to be fully smoking.

Who the hell are the Non-Smokers that this is protecting? I live in Tempe, and one of the reasons I love this city is because they have a smoking ban. If the yahoo voters get confused and actually vote in this petition, then us non-smokers who like to go to pub-n-grubs in Tempe are screwed.

I am going to be sopissed if The Horse and Hound (located at 1320 E Broadway Road, Tempe) goes back to being a smoking place. I love their Cardinal Burger. Hubster loves the Pork Loin sammich.

If you live in AZ, make sure you�re voting for the right Smoking Ban! I suppose, though, if you really support smoking in public places, then you�ve got a chance. But I won�t be happy with you.

Talk about going to be unhappy:

Glory be, the fish need to be protected too. Even from smoking:

I guess I did have quite a bit to say after all. Ta!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones