Every Good Boy Deserves Favour: Thursday Thirteen
Thursday, Jun. 22, 2006 at 10:02 a.m.

Thirteen Songs That Are Kind Of Obscure But I Like For Singing or Headbanging in My Car, Just Off the Top of My Head:

When�s Your Birthday by Meredith Brooks: Most folks know her �I�m a Bitch� song when it used to get airplay some years ago. Lately I�ve heard that song used during movie trailers. Birthday is a narrative of a woman on a first date trying to glean information from her date:

When�s your birthday
What�s your middle name
What�s your favorite flavor ice cream
Can you tell me, tell me, this?

It goes on to how she will quit her job, have his children, etc. I lived that life for a while. Usually, though, on a first date, I would either belch or tell a really off-color joke, and that would weed out the boys from the men. My first date with Hubster was a Mardi Gras party at my house, and I got toasted and the cops showed up. He called me the next day. I knew he was a winner.

Karen By Night by Jill Sobule: Her hit song was �I Kissed a Girl� which is about, well, kissing a girl, but this tune is about a woman who works at a shoe store. She is mystified by her boss Karen, a seemingly dull woman who apparently leads a secret life:

Karen by night
Her leather comes out under the moonlight
Takes off her Chanel and she hops on a bike
Looking like young Marlon Brando
Karen by night

Don�t we all want to be Karen by night? I do, so long as I look like young Marlon Brando, and not �old fat Marlon Brando from Apocalypse Now.�

Lonesome Cowboy Jim by Frank Zappa: This song was originally �Lonesome Cowboy Burt�, but Zappa had a way of changing his songs to reflect the current events of the day. �Cowboy Jim� is a narrative about Jim Swaggart and his exploits with Louisiana prostitutes:

My name is Swaggart, I am an asshole
All my friends, they call me Jim (Hi, Jim!)
I'm from Louisiana, I make lots of money,
But I fucked up and committed a sin

Hyper Enough by SuperChunk: This is track 7 on the Tromeo and Juliet soundtrack, a little Troma movie based on the Shakespeare play. It�s actually quite good, and it follows the original story rather faithfully. Sometimes, the characters break into iambic pentameter! Nice and loud little tune, good for headbanging in your car:

And I know you are never wrong
I know you are never wrong
I was not weak but the drink was strong
I know you are never wrong
I think I'm hyper enough as it is
I think I'm hyper enough

Like a Friend by Pulp: I think I live this song a lot. I�m very maternal and I want everyone to be happy, but many times it�s at the expense of my well-being:

Like a car crash I can see but I just can't avoid.
Like a plane I've been told I never should board.
Like a film that's so bad but I've gotta stay til the end.
Let me tell you now, It's lucky for you that we're friends.

Horizon by the Arrogant Worms: This is the only song that I have ever heard to laud the assets of a 1984 Plymouth Horizon. Bombastic, brash, and funny as hell:

Still I loved my baby And would not admit defeat
Just because it left a trail Of rust along the street
It kept on running bravely On duct tape and a prayer
Plus a monthly tribute to The guy who did repairs

While My Guitar Gently Weeps by George Harrison: Okay, okay. Not obscure at all, yet it doesn�t get anywhere near enough airtime, as far as I�m concerned. This is my fave Beatles tune, all woeful with the strains of Eric Clapton�s guitar:

I don't know why nobody told you how to unfold your love
I don't know how someone controlled you they bought and sold you

I look at the world and I notice it's turning
While my guitar gently weeps
With every mistake we must surely be learning
Still my guitar gently weeps

Dead Skunk by Loudon Wainwright III: Okay, the complete other end of the spectrum. How can you not love this song, though? I wish I�d hear more singers in bars do this one:

Yeah you got yer dead cat and you got yer dead dog
On a moonlight night you got yer dead toad frog
Got yer dead rabbit and yer dead raccoon
The blood and the guts they're gonna make you swoon!

A Love Song (from a different point of view) by Jimmy Buffett: Yes, it has alternative names, mostly some variation of �Why Don�t We Get Drunk (And Screw)�. You all know the lyrics. We played this at our wedding reception. I think even my Mom knew the words:

Why don't we get drunk, and screw?
I just bought a waterbed, it's filled up for me and you
(or Elmer�s Glue, if you prefer)
They say you are a snuff queen, Honey I don't think that's true,
So why don't we get drunk, and screw?

I think, in this context, �snuff queen� doesn�t mean �star of a film who gets killed on-camera.� Because no such movie exists. Really. Ask Larry Flynt.

We are the Roadcrew by Motorhead: I was the road crew. But I didn�t go anywhere. I worked in an arena, loading and unloading trucks and setting up soundboards and coiling FOH snakes that were covered with vomit and beer and fighting monitor cases that had broken wheels:

Another town, left behind
Another drink, completely blind
Another hotel I can't find
Another backstage pass for you
Another tube of superglue
Another border to get through
We are the road crew

Beer by the Bilge Pumps: I should really introduce poolagirl to these Bilge Pumps, who are pirate singing group based out of Dallas/Ft. Worth, and are an utter delight:

He ought to be an Admiral, a Sultan, or a King
And to his praises, we should always sing.
Look what he has done for us, he's filled us up with cheer.
The Lord bless Charlie Mops, the man who invented,
Beer, beer, beer, tiddly-beer, beer beer.

You and Me Song by the Wanndies: just a happy little song that is featured on Baz Luhrmann�s Romeo + Juliet soundtrack. Makes you just want to bounce happily in your seat while stuck in traffic on the Loop 202:

Then we watch TV
Until we fall asleep
Not very exciting
But it's you and me
And we'll always be together
You and me - always - and forever
You and me - always - and forever

Gay Bar by Electric Six: Well, okay. What makes this song so great is the animation for it from Rather Good.com,, who also brought you those weird Quizno�s commercials a while ago.

Now tell me do ya, a do ya have any money?
I wanna spend all your money,
at the gay bar, gay bar, gay bar.

A gay bar is in fact, one of the best places to go. Ever.

Journey of the Sorceror by the Eagles: I am probably one of the few people that actually bought this album for this particular track, once I heard it used as the theme for Hitchhiker�s Guide to the Galaxy TV series in the middle of the night on PBS oh so many years ago. Full of banjos and fiddles, you can see whales plummeting to their death, planets exploding, and terminally depressed robots lumbering off into the sunset within the notes. If Professor Dumbledore had a tune played at his funeral, this would have been it.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones