Dollars to Dial for Donuts
Monday, Jun. 26, 2006 at 1:28 p.m.

I listen to an internet radio station called the 3K Underground, and they do have a rather interesting playlist. As I was reading smedindy�s entry today about AM radio, I suddenly realized I was listening to Frank Zappa�s �Cosmik Debris� and sort of mumbling along with the lyrics! It also occurred to me that the radio station I listen to in the car, KCDX, 103.1 FM Phoenix/Florence also plays the kind of tunes that were on the AM dial and potentially on the K-Tel records that Smed speaks of so fondly (there were K-Tel records in my past too).

KCDX has the distinction of playing constant back-to-back music without any commercials. None at all. And not even the ramblings of a DJ. Only the call sign every 30 minutes or so. One of their call signs goes, �Playing another 1000 in a row! Why? Because we can!� How is KCDX able to do this? KCDX is a closely guarded secret and the subject of legend here in the Phoenix area. Rumor has it that it�s broadcast from one of the prisons, others maintain it�s some weird rich guy in his basement with a major shitload of CDs. What I do know is that they play music you wouldn�t normally even hear, even on an oldies station, things like Dr. Hook and Loudon Wainwright and Melanie and Nick Cave and lesser known tunes by Simon and Garfarkle and Rush and David Bowie and Cream and the No.9 track from The White Album

I think I�ll devote my next Thursday Thirteen to tracks I hear regularly on that station.

Also, here�s another Foofies! Contest. Comment with where the �Simon and Garfarkle� reference comes from. You have to include the entire speech regarding the reference. And awittykitty is not eligible to win as she is a recent winner. Even though I still haven�t mailed her prize Foofies! yet.

So speaking of Cosmik Debris, here�s some cosmic debris of a visual manner:

Well, well. Talk about alternative fuels. And speaking of alternatives:

Well, considering what chicken tastes like and the modern food process, who knows? That question, of course, prompts this one:

I thought that was the tenet of most churches, but apparently not. I suppose that modern society�s religious tenets have been going in a different direction:

Perhaps that kind of belief is really bringing down our sense of responsibility, as seen here:

Oh well. Whatever.

Precisely.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones