Thursday Thirteen Bottles of Beer on the Wall
Thursday, May. 18, 2006 at 8:37 a.m.

I see a lot of bloggers doing a Thursday Thirteen, so here is my attempt to do so. I�m going to talk about 13 alcoholic beverages and memories associated with each:

1. Beer: When I lived in Tacoma, there was a bar called E9, which was housed in an old fire station. There was lots of memorabilia on the walls and they had microbrews on tap, which was my first real experience with such. I had had experience with foreign beers at my old hometown bar with the �Around the World Club�, and I particularly remember something called Dortmunder Union Something or Other, which I remember as looking like old motor oil and tasting like hell.

2. Bacardi Rum 151: This is what I had when I got really drunk for the first time. I was with all my high school chums and I puked my guts out in someone�s purse. Why? Well, because someone held it out in front of me to puke in.

3. Amaretto Sours: This is my exclusive drink back when I wasn�t old enough to drink. I could also get these 2 for 1 at my local Bennigan�s, so I could get halfways schnockered pretty easily. I thought they tasted like candy.

4. Hurricanes: The Margarita of New Orleans. The best one(s) I ever had came from a hole in the wall on Bourbon street, and after about four of them, my chums from #2 tried to pick up a gorgeous street guitarist who was playing blues behind a chapel in the French Quarter.

5. Margaritas: Frozen=Adult Slurpees. Top shelf, rocks, no salt=heaven in a glass.

6. Alabama Slammers: If I remember correctly, this is cranberry juice, orange juice, Southern Comfort, and . . . Sloe Gin? I don�t know. You have to ask for it straight up, though, because they tend to give to you on rocks, and why would you want to sip an Alabama Slammer if you couldn�t slam it? Really! The choice shooter after screaming �Roll Tide! Roll!�

7. Tequila Shooters: Oh dear. So many incidents occurred while doing shooters. The general rules for shooters: Once a bottle is opened, it must be finished that night; and the person who opened the bottle must finish the bottle. Even if that means waking that person up from unconsciousness. And of course, body shots, well . . . Several things happened there. One time I was crew on a musical and we�d do shots right before the show, and then after sucking the lime, we�d toss the rinds of the roof of the theatre.

8. Red Wine: Aren�t red wine hangovers the worst ever?? I remember my father had a knack for calling me early in the morning when I was hung over while in grad school. Being a former consummate drinker himself (he modified the front coat closet into a fold down bar in his first apartment while in the Navy) he�d usually give me tips on how to quell the hangover. I remember, though, for the red wine one, he said, �Oh man. There�s nothing you can do for that except stare at the ceiling until you pass out. And sweat it out. Try eating a loaf of white bread.�

9. Flaming Blue Fuzzy Fuckers: I have no idea what�s in here. For a while this was my birthday drink. And not just for my birthday, but anyone�s. Including people I didn�t know. Because how can you not love a drink called anything�Fucker�, especially when it�s on fire??

10. Chocolate Nude: Oh, oh, a wonderful comfort drink. Godiva chocolate liquer and Peppermint Schnapps. It�s so sweet then hits your belly with a little warm fire, then the chocolate taste fills your senses. Oh, lovely, the official drink of PMS and it�s just lovely lovely lovely.

11. Purple Hooters: Chambord, Raspberry Schnapps, Vodka, and Sprite. Shoot �em or Sip �em on rocks. Adult Kool-aid. Discovered these at a bar in Rocky Point Mexico. Led to the activity in #12.

12. Tequila Sunrises: I think we started drinking these around 3 pm in Rocky Point and ended up in the ocean at 3 am. We also scared a bunch of teenyboppers in the hotel pool, who thought they were so cool to be in Mexico and thought they were really partying hardy. They didn�t know the meaning of �Party Hardy� until 3 completely naked 30-year-old women cannonballed into the pool with lit cigarettes and we didn�t even loose an ash.

13. Single Malt Scotch: This became my birthday drink when I turned 25. Must be single malt, preferably Lagalvulin or Cragganmore (some of the better stuff you can get in AZ) but must at least have �Glen� in the name. Straight up, thank you, and yes, I�ll take a puff on that cigar.

Ta, loves. It�s Happy Hour somewhere.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones