And just like that, the flood gates opened
Friday, Apr. 28, 2006 at 1:35 p.m.

Why do I have the theme song to New Zoo Revue running through my head? I actively avoided watching that TV show because I was frightened by the big pink hippo. At the time it seemed to me that a big pink hippo is stuff of drunken nightmares. Even though I was only 8 or so, I had a good idea about the DTs for watching the movie Dumbo That movie was a good kick right in the pants, huh? A child is separated from his mother, placed in questionable foster care, gets drunk, and is told he can fly by a group of stereotypical minstrel-singing crows. And his best friend is a mouse with delusions of grandeur. Of course, it�s the �Baby Mine� scene that makes me cry every single time. I get misty hearing the durned song. And I�d rather get misty over �Baby Mine� than twitchy from �New Zoo Revue�.

When I did finally experience drunken nightmares, the ones that I remember the most clearly had either Princess Di/Price Charles in them or the cast from Murphy Brown, which I also actively avoided watching because, well, I didn�t think it was all that great. Well, I didn�t. At the time, I thought it was pretentious, and I have a difficult time watching TV shows that I find pretentious or embarrassing to watch. I do, however, have a sick guilty pleasure in watching both Family Guy and American Dad! both of which are so puerile when compared to something like Clerks: The Animated Series which had the misfortune of being on the network while the said network was still in its pearly-white-pretentious-ruled-by-Regis-pre-Desperate Housewives days. And I can�t watch Desperate Housewives anymore, either, as it started to fall squarely into the �embarrassing to watch� category. House still has the tendency to piss me off, mostly because they bandy about Sarcoidosis as a potential illness when the patient�s symptoms don�t follow that theory, and the doctors don�t follow the protocol to test for Sarcoid. As a �sufferer of the heartbreak of� Sarcoid I find it insulting. Yes, 95% of cases do have hilar lymph node swelling, but there�s still that 5%. Sarcoid can occur in any bodily organ, you nits!

I am still knitting like a madwoman, to the point where I am now branching out into designer needles. I�m finding aluminum ones to be too heavy and unwieldy, prompting me to move onwards to the Boye Balene knitting needles, which were more then likely made out of baleen at one point and time. Now they�re a nice flexible plastic and have a finish reminiscent of Bakelite. I also plan to try some of the fancy bamboo ones as well, although I am concerned about splinters. Knitting needles are 40% this weekend at JoAnn�s!! Yippee!!

Hubster, of course, is reticent about my getting really nuts into knitting this weekend as he�s still jonesin� for me to finish the computer room. We went and bought the paint last night, and I�m a stickler for good paint, but $20 a gallon? I suppose I�m still spoiled by the years where I got all my paint and supplies for free due to my walking off with stuff the generosity of the old workplace. I hope I�ve been hit enough by the Karma Bus � for my sticky fingers. The colors I picked out, though, are quite lovely, two shades of blue with a peacock sort of background tint. The whole color scheme was dictated by a quilted wall hanging made by the MIL as a housewarming gift.

This redecorating work is of course prompting talk with the Hubster regarding other changes we want to do to the house. So far the short list included: new flooring, new windows, new patio doors, and a Jacuzzi, which will probably set us back by about, oh, quite a large sum of money equal to whatever car Hubster buys for his 40th birthday, which is as much mid-life crisis as he is allowed. The long list included moving about nearly all the furniture from the living room to the den and completely making over the living room into a games room complete with pool table. The problem is that we have too much furniture and not enough room in said den, what with one wall being taken up by fireplace and patio door. So we will have to start downsizing everything. And oh, yes, the long term also included the internal construction of a large custom-made salt-water tank that involves cutting out a section of wall between the kitchen and the hallway. I�ll make sure I keep you up to date on that one.

Since I can�t leave without a picture, let�s see what I can find:

Once upon a time, a donkey decided to take a journey to seek his fortune. He had found this ad and decided to apply for the job.

The directions he was given over the phone led him to this place:

When he arrived, he asked about the job, but had found out the job had been contracted back out to the government:

The donkey was disappointed, of course, but undaunted. He continued on his way until he met this gentleman:

This fellow said he needed help �loading his rig�, while he tended to �other business�. The donkey had no such experience, but was willing to try. However, the donkey�s attempt turned into a disaster:

Fearing the wrath of the previously kindly truck driver, the donkey ran to seek asylum:

The donkey took heed of these words and entered the church. He found no one there, but he took a moment to pray for guidance. Lo and behold, the donkey saw a sign:

Emboldened by such knowledge, the donkey continued his journey to other lands.

This story may or may not be continued. . . .

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones