Eyes Are Turning the Color of Frozen Meat
Friday, Dec. 05, 2008 at 7:24 a.m.

Hi there!

So yes, I�m still sick and still without a voice. I went to the �Minute Clinic� in a CVS Pharmacy, and actually had a nice experience with it. I logged into a computer, and about 3 minutes later, I was talking to a nurse practitioner whose first words to me were �Dang, you sound awful.� She diagnosed me with bronchitis, laryngitis, and ear infections, and prescribed antibiotics, a daytime cough medicine (which came in these cunning little yellow gel-like capsules. I feel as if I should squish out the contents and put it on my crow�s feet), and a nighttime cough syrup with codeine. The pharmacist�s first words to me were, �Oh dear, you are terribly sick,� and she gave me a little syringe-type thing with which to measure out my cough syrup. It�s a lot more precise than a spoon, and it gives me a kind of odd pleasure to shoot up in my mouth. But then, I do have a bit of an oral fixation.

Unfortunately, while I took all the meds as prescribed, it will take a little bit for them to actually kick in and I spent most of last night awake and still coughing. I managed about 3 hours in the recliner � it seems that sitting more upright lessens the cough � and I dreamed about driving an Aston Martin� through the catacombs of ancient Rome. When I finally reached my hotel, the toilet, the bidet, and the bathroom sink were all brightly painted with big click-art-type flowers. And then I had to go on stage immediately to perform in an Esperanto version of Hair.

Dang, it�s a good thing I don�t make a habit of narcotics, no?

The good Hubster did make dinner last night, but only after this conversation:

Valkyrie: What�s for dinner?
Hubster: I thought you said it was going to be meatloaf.
Valkyrie: But . . . I don�t want to make it.
Hubster: Me neither.
Valkyrie: But I�m hungry.
Hubster: But I�m tired.
Valkyrie: But I�m SICK. That trumps. I win.

And Hubster made a very good meatloaf. Very dense and very tasty. I love meatloaf. I also like liver and onions and there�s only one restaurant that does a good job with it here in my area � fortunately it�s rather close!

Well, I guess I�ll sign off for the weekend. Thank you all for your get-well wishes. I know I�ll be on the mend soon! But I must remember to take it easy with those narcotics, otherwise I might end up going a little crazy like this bloke here:

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones