Even I Know Which is for Shooting and Which is for Fun
Thursday, Mar. 13, 2008 at 8:14 a.m.

Okay, so there have been some guesses on the movie quotes . . .

Here we go.

1. �You bet I am. And you should have caught me before my operation!�

2. �Watch out for snakes!� This warning is suddenly spoken in a loud, creepy voice that matches no one on the screen during a moment in Eegah! Since seeing it, the Hubster and I work it into our regular conversation. We were also watching an episode of The Office and Michael said it and both of us lost it completely. Guessed by cheating by the lovely poolagirl

3. �Tyrone, you know how much I love watching you work, but I've got my country's 500th anniversary to plan, my wedding to arrange, my wife to murder and Guilder to frame for it; I'm swamped.� Yes, this was a gimmee but I love this line. lumenatrix gets this one because she gave the full answer, Prince Humperdinck from The Princess Bride.

4. �Locked, from the inside. That can only mean one thing. And I don't know what it is.�

5. �Maycomb was a tired old town, even in 1932 when I first knew it. Somehow, it was hotter then. Men's stiff collars wilted by nine in the morning; ladies bathed before noon, after their 3 o'clock naps, and by nightfall were like soft teacakes with frosting from sweating and sweet talcum. The day was twenty-four hours long, but it seemed longer. There was no hurry, for there was nowhere to go and nothing to buy... and no money to buy it with. Although Maycomb County had recently been told that it had nothing to fear but fear itself... That summer, I was six years old.� Also correctly guessed by lumenatrix this was Grown-up Scout (the narrator) from To Kill a Mockingbird. This is my all-time favorite book ever.

6. �Dozens of people spontaneously combust each year. It's just not really widely reported.� The movie was correctly guessed by BoredLaura -- This is Spinal Tap, but she neglected to mention that it was David St. Hubbins who actually said it.

7. �The man, yes; the child, no.�

8. �The pellet with the poison's in the flagon with the dragon; the vessel with the pestle has the brew that is true.� Correctly guessed by erianne1, this was Griselda from Danny Kaye�s The Court Jester. My parents and I would recite this on a regular basis during the holidays or whenever this movie was shown on TV.

9. �Ruber? Who the hell is Ruber??�

10. �Bring us a pitcher of beer every seven minutes until somebody passes out. And then bring one every ten minutes.�

Some of the remaining lines are terribly, terribly obscure, and at least one is from a movie lampooned on MST3K � but the line is from the actual movie, not a response from Mike or Joel or the �bots. Also, the line #1 is from my own memory of what I�m pretty sure the line is, because it�s such a bizarre line to be spoken by any character in any movie. So the words may be a skosh off, but that�s the main intent. And it�s a movie from 1932. There. Those are your hints.

Thanks to everyone for your good wishes for my father. I know that he was scheduled for a surgical consult this week, and it appears that he will only lose about 2 inches of his colon, which is very good, relatively speaking. Mom�s brother has had at least 6 inches removed in two separate surgeries and he�s as spry as a young chicken (for being 80-something) so Mom�s a lot more calm about the surgery. She�s also made sure that she does have power of attorney because Dad�s getting less and less sure about things like signing papers and all that. Fortunately, Mom and Dad filled out those papers about 2 years ago before Dad started going really bad with the Alzheimer�s. Dad�s excited though, because he finally got approved to get a new pair of customized orthopedic shoes with special inserts for his missing toes. He got fitted earlier this week and the shoes should be coming in by the time he�s ready to move about more after the colon surgery. So anyway, thanks for the good thoughts and prayers. Keep remembering my Mom, too, because she�s his caregiver and she needs some extra strength!

So I�m supposed to get my performance review this week, but again, my supervisor is working from home � I suspect this has something to do with the carton and a half of cigarettes she smokes per day. (This is not the PABB, she is still out on medical leave) I�ve never known anyone to have so many headaches and muscle pains and kidney stones. Again, carton and a half of cigarettes a day?? Hmmm??

I jest. I have no idea how much she smokes. I will say, though, that I�m glad that my cube is on the other side of the wall and two doors down. And between me and her is a scented candle and four live plants, which I say out loud is for zen but we all know what they�re really for.

However, I think this guy is confused between his rifle and his gun and what purpose each is for:

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones