Wander round and round and round and round and round and round . . .
Friday, Nov. 17, 2006 at 8:13 a.m.

On this day in 1968, NBC preempts the final 1:05 from a very close Jets-Raiders NFL football game with Heidi. Two touchdowns were scored during this missing time. Sports fans everywhere applaud and understand the network's decision.

Can�t you just hear the crowds? This must have been before sports were the be-all end-all on American television. The notion of pre-empting a game with Heidi for chrissakes. I wonder if the dude on the whatever equipment it is that switches over stuff like that still lives. I doubt it. He was probably lynched and barbequed in the next tailgate party.

You know what else? No network recordings of the first Superbowl survive. They were taped over by soap operas at the network. The only footage available is people with cameras at the game. Well, isn�t that crusty? I wonder if some geek in some basment with advanced Photoshop� is working hard at recreating it, like the Hitler diaries. The only problem with that theory is that �Geek� and �Football� don�t normally go together.

When the Hubster and I first started dating, he told me that he didn�t care for watching sports on TV. This turned out to be an utter lie, but he managed to live because I like to watch football on occasion. I prefer college games, though, but imagine if I�d been a sports TV teetotaler, what would that have done for our relationship? Of course, at the time, I thought that the bare minimum of children for me would be three, but we all know how that changed.

One of our first dates was to attend the Highland games over here, and these Highland games usually host the National Women�s Highland Games Championships, and you haven�t seen anything until you see a woman in a kilt toss a caber. I remember this date because: we got in free because we ran into Shannon, the reigning (at the time) champ of Women�s Highland games, and she gave us free tickets. Also, it was the first time I saw Hubster�s bare legs in shorts. Very hairy. And kind of bow-legged. I remember remarking that he had said he didn�t watch sports, and he replied, �This isn�t sports. This is entertainment.� And frankly, watching Shannon whip that pan about half a mile across the field, I�d have to agree.

In other news, I got hit with the Karma Bus� a bit myself because I seem to have a bit of a cold, one that I hope I can quickly burn out because I have to power-clean my entire house before the ILs show up next Thursday. I�m sure I don�t have to have everything sparkling, but the remaining carpet in the house is getting decidedly grody. What is it about cats that they can�t move over three feet to puke on the tile floor, but have to blow their chunks on the carpet? Anyhoo, I had a terrible case of snot-head yesterday, and I managed to make it home, medicate myself, and crawl into bed for about a hour and a half before Hubster came in to ask if I was okay.

Ya think?

But then, I do have a habit of falling asleep in the afternoons. Not like it�s narcolepsy or anything, but I just tend to like an afternoon nap. Darn sarcoid, prednisone, menopause, and a bad diet. Really, some days I just feel like this:

Yep, I feel like a grizzled old bearded farmer with no teeth and corn silk for hair sometimes. You have to wonder about those modern pharmaceuticals.

NaNoWriMo word count: 37438. WOOT!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones