Hopefully I can still avoid Pocky
Monday, Jul. 10, 2006 at 10:15 a.m.

Today is my first day back with A at a daytime shift. A was the woman who trained me and then she had to go on the overnight shift because of lack of personnel. We�ll see how this day plays out. So far she has only corralled me once in my cube, blocking my doorway with her cigarette reek miasma reek. No sugar-coating, Valkyrie, tell it like it is. I can actually smell her over the wall. In retaliation, I have brought in one of my super-scented homemade jar candles to infiltrate my olfactory sense before she does.

It�s still early. We shall see.

Hubster and I held a rummage sale on Saturday, mostly to try to sell the bed and dresser that are currently in the spare bedroom/Mary Kay room. This was my old set that was my Aunt D�s old set that was her brother F�s old set from like 1930 something or other. It�s a nice light warm wood finish on a full-size bed frame and dresser. And being that it�s over 60 years old, and has been moved back and forth to about 6 different states, including cross-country 4 times, it has a bit of wear on it. I couldn�t believe how many times I got haggled on that damned furniture, complete with a high-end mattress! I wasn�t even asking that much ($150 for everything) but rummage-salers can be so cheap. One man even said, �It�s got some wear on it.� See above statement, cheapskate. Whatever. I suppose it�s back to craigslist for that thing. Here�s a couple of pictures:

Anyone willing to come to Phoenix and pay me $150 and take the furniture with them? Let me know.

Of course, the question is, if we like this stuff so much, why are we selling it? A full-size bed is not conducive to guests. We really should have a queen-size bed in there. However, to continue to attempt to get rid of guests as quickly as possible, our plan is to get a dreadfully uncomfortable mattress. MWA HA HA HA!

Anyhoo, we still did well on the sale and managed to make a small chunk of change. We banked the coinage and the dollar bills and then split the large bills between us. I also took the opportunity to empty the Minaki Neko Kitty Bank and discovered well over $80 in there, which will go into the bank as well. Hubster�s comment: �Well, I suppose that�ll pay for the gas if we take a weekend trip somewhere.�

We were both financially bummed out, though, because during the sale, I had arranged for a washing machine repairman to come out and tell me why the thing was making a horrible clicking sound during the spin cycle. My experience with washing machines has been good, I suppose, because I thought they were hard to kill. Apparently not. There�s a circuit switch that got all hoopty at some point (Hubster understands this better) so our options were: A) Let the repair guy bend the circuit back into place and understand that we were on borrowed time with the washer, or B) Buy a new motor for $414. $414??? The fuck??? I paid $369 for the damned thing in 1999 (I know because I still have the receipt)! Even the repair guy said, �Look, that�s bogus, lemmee just bend the thing back in place, but it will eventually stop working. It could be a year, it could be a week. And it probably will have a tub full of clothes and water when it does. And I�m really sorry about having to tell you this.�

Fortunately, Hubster watched him do this jerry-rigging-thing, so perhaps we�ll get lucky, and be able to squeeze more life out of the thing. Because in my mind, a washing machine is supposed to last more than 7 years. Although I�m sure that the huge amount of animal hair we now live with is killing the poor thing. The hair�s already burned out one vacuum.

But we also got some time to relax and I got lots of laundry done and Hubster got some new fish for his aquarium. I also uploaded part of my Cowboy Bebop fanfiction to FanFiction.net(click here to read it), and I must say that it�s been fun so far to write a story from a dog�s POV and incorporate the word �fucker� into about every other sentence. Of course, I�m now crossing over the line from fan to otaku but I figure I can dance on the edge until I write a �lemon� story. Which was my intention on this story because I find most �lemon� fanfics to be either laughable or downright disturbing, but I�m finding it weird to suddenly stick a sex scene (heh heh, I said stick) in this story that is mainly about a dog. And I wasn�t going to write a sex scene that involved the dog. Sorry to disappoint my bestiality-preferential friends.

Anyhoo, over the weekend I also got a lovely e-mail from awittykitty thanking me for writing an entry solely about her, even it meant that I didn�t get to dedicate an entry to yet more of my goofy-assed sign photographs. Sorry to disappoint the snarky signage fans as well, because there aren�t going to be any of those in today�s entry either.

Oh no. I�m so evil I made a bunny cry? I promise, snarky photos of goofy signs in the near future. I can�t stand to make anything cry.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones