Don't you DARE bogart that
Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2005 at 9:37 a.m.

So I got slightly miffed at the Hubster last night. Due to my cold, I sounded like I had swallowed a peat bog. I croaked to him, �I was just planning on reheating the leftovers. Would you like me to make you a plate?� And Hubster replied, �No, I�ll take care of it.� So he proceeds to make a plate for himself and sat down and ate.

And didn�t make a plate for me.

Now I�m guessing that this is part of the Universal Differences Between Men and Women that we�re always arguing about. In my female universe, in that exchange, I took it as read that not only would he take care of making his own plate, but that he would automatically make a plate for me. Apparently, in his male and therefore utterly wrong and stupid universe, �I�ll take care of it� means: �I�ll make my own plate and nobody else�s, because if I have to make my own plate that means it�s every man for himself.�

SONUVABITCH.

I got him back, though. I got some discs in the mail yesterday and I sat him down to watch the Educational Archives: More Sex and Drugs with me last night. This was another library of educational films about the *coff* consequences of drugs and sex. There was a film from 1979, narrated by the illustrious Anita Bryant herself, called Drugs are Like That, and gosh darn it, it had a peppy little folk Mitch Miller song too! There was also a good little film about the dangers of syphilis, which seemingly attempted to make the point that if you engage in any pre-marital sex, you will automatically be doomed to VD and your life will be ruined by becoming criminally insane and a hopeless cripple. Not a word about how condoms might help. I was also pleasantly surprised by a very good film called Parent to Child: Talking about Sex or something to that effect. It was very well done and spoke to parents about how to adopt language to help answer your children�s questions about sex in an age-appropriate manner. Because it was so straightforward, obviously it would have never been used in the right-wing-afraid-of-sex-talk-society that we live in, in particular because the movie actually said that masturbation and exploring your genitals is a healthy and normal part of growing up and exploring your sexuality.

For Shame! Bring out the rubber underwear with the genital electrodes!! Don�t you know that everytime you touch yourself, GOD CRIES??

The last film on the disc was called Sudden Birth and featured the most wooden line-reading I have ever heard outside of a John Waters film. The story revolved around a cop who wanted to know what to do in case he got in a situation where a mother was giving birth and he had to deliver the baby. Well, what do you know, that very night, a mother was trapped in a car with a flat tire and he had to deliver a baby! And the birth was shown in full-color, no-holds-barred, right up close, so Hubster and I got to watch an actual birth, right down to the cutting of the cord. We were both rather impressed but we each only had one question afterwards. And it was the same for both of us:

Who gets to clean the backseat of that car?

At any rate, most of the drug films were anti-marijuana which I expected, but the films seemed to go after the moral issue rather than any kind of physical detriments that �blowing pot� might have. I wonder why. Could it be because nearly 60 years later, no one can still confidently prove that smoking doobie is any more harmful to the system than the �legal� drugs of tobacco and liquor? *sigh*

And then you have:

But we all know what the real evil in the world is, don�t we, kids?

The problem is that he seems to like it, though.

TA!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones