Chocolate Salty Balls and other confections
2005-05-02 at 10:16 a.m.

I took some prednisone yesterday, mostly as an experiment to see if it helped the wheezing. It seemed to, which is good because it indicates that the wheezing is caused by inflammation. Which would mean that it wouldn't be cancer, yippee! Of course, I have to wait and see what the scan says on Wednesday.

I'm looking forward to lunch tomorrow with Laura. We don't see each other often enough. Tomorrow is my low-no-carb day, which is going to be interesting for the carb addict me. Yikes!

We went to see Hitchhiker's on Saturday. I was pleasantly surprised. It was slightly updated, slightly changed, but overall it was rather fun. There were a few in jokes for the crowd that had seen the original TV show however many yonks ago. I really liked how the Vogons looked too. You have to hand it to Jim Henson's Muppetworks. They do cool stuff. At first I though it might be Spitting Image (they had that look, especially around the mouth) but they were too sophisticated for that. And it was a PG movie too! No sex, one kiss, a few references to drinking, and well, of course, the entire human race getting decimated. What great family fare! I think it's too much for really young kids, though. There were quite a few very young kindergartener age kids there. How can they possibly understand the satire that is Marvin, the clinically depressed robot? Eh. It's the same parents who take their toddlers to see Princess Mononoke, or even better, South Park. Here's an exchange I shared with the 8 year old child who sat next to me at the South Park movie:

he: "Who do you like best in South Park?"

me: "I like Chef. He's pretty cool."

he: "I like Kenny, 'coz he get's killed in every episode, AND THAT'S COOL."

AAAUUUUGGGH!

Is THIS the kid I want dispensing my meds 50 years from now when I'm in a care facility? I was the only adult in that movie theatre who DIDN'T have kids with me! An R-rated movie! What was funny about that whole movie, though, was that the entire premise revolved around kids seeing movies they shouldn't see.

Thank goodness, though, that parents seem to draw the line at Spike and Mike's Festival of Sick and Twisted Animation. I could be totally elitist and say that's because Spike and Mike normally play at art houses and not your local googleplex. I have a few of their discs, because, well, I'm sick and twisted a bit, and my mom wanted to watch some, which I wasn't totally prepared for. For cryin out loud, I'm 34 and I still can't talk to my mom about sex. Still, she enjoyed the racy stuff but she didn't like the gross stuff. She likes South Park, though. Go figure.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones