Food, glorious food
2005-03-16 at 9:08 a.m.

I had a really good steak dinner last night. I'm also going to be catered by this same restaurant tonight at the PBS fundraiser. Sometimes it's good to volunteer. Little perks like free food. Any opportunity for free food is good. I guess I'm still mercenary enough to remember the old theatre days when dinner was usually ramen. It was a good week if I could add tuna to it. I remember in Tuscaloosa there was a burger joint where you could get five burgers for $1. They were pretty bad, but edible, and really, you got the protein and the carbs. I was usually able to dig up a buck in change from somewhere. But this was when I would deposit all the pennies from my piggy bank to pay the rent. I found out later that I was eligible for food stamps and other support, but I didn't take advantage of that. It would have been really helpful.

I still kind of like ramen, though. And I definitely like tuna. Also, having to be so frugal works for me pretty well in that I grocery shop like a madwoman with only two pennies. I never buy anything unless it's on sale or a store brand. And the meat I buy is always on sale, or better yet, reduced "for quick sale" because, hell, I'm gonna freeze it anyway. And the crockpot makes cheap meat taste darned good, especially pork roasts when I do them hawaiian style. We love that shit. Damn I'm hungry.

I have a dentist's appointment today and then I have to do some Mary Kay schmoozing and then the chiropractor and then off to the PBS station. At least I'll get fed. Damn I'm still hungry. I guess I should make that bag of micro popcorn that's in my bag.

Last weekend the hubby and I were coming back from Tucson and we stopped at the DQ near Picacho Peak. That weekend there was a Civil War reinactment (yes, there WAS a Civil War skirmish way out here in AZ) and several Confederate soldiers came in looking for beer. A couple of them got burger baskets. I guess they weren't hard-core period reinactors. Ha ha

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones