lather me up and call me a loofah
Monday, Feb. 23, 2009 at 8:56 p.m.

Hola, Keeds. Well, life has been, well, just life, you know? And somehow, since becoming unemployed, I seem to be busier. I don�t know how that happened. However, going to three knitting groups a week has something to do with it. I also still have the Weight Watchers, and now I�m taking myself out to lunch more often. I also met up with S, my former co-worker and current buddy until she and her family hie themselves fully to Denver this summer. I knitted hats and scarves and foofies for the whole famn damily. Check out S�s blog �I Miss My Sanity�. Just click on it, over there to the right, under the picture of the high heel crushing a poor innocent carnation. I�ll wait. I�ll be here when you get back.

She�s funny, jah? Jah.

Well, here�s the poop on Dad. He was in the facility for less than 3 weeks, and it didn�t go well. There was no chance of him getting any kind of rehab or even maintenance care, it seemed. He was pretty pissy the whole time, and his health suffered, so he went back into the hospital late last week with a supposed case of pneumonia, which it turned out he didn�t have. He did have another UTI. Also, the nasty sore on his lip that we�ve thought had been some kind of herpes zostra has in fact turned out to be some sort of skin cancer. Double Damn. He�s not a candidate for surgery, obviously, and radiation treatments would probably make him sick. Double that with his inability to keep still, and he�d also have to have a mask over his face for the radiation sessions, so I guess the oncologists are going to be �watchfully waiting.�

Sunday, however, I called Mom to find out that Dad did qualify for the nice Hospice center just down the road, and when I called, she was waiting for the EMTs to come and move him. Not that Dad is terminal within the next six months, but Hospice is now recognizing Alzheimer�s as a life-ending illness. Mom�s happy about this transition; in fact, she�s doing much better now. I plan to go and visit soon.

I had a job interview last week with a medical office staffing company that was winnowing down candidates for an orthotics and prosthetics company that I would have been thrilled to work for, but now it seems that the prosthetic company has offered the position to someone else. Maybe. Probably some salesman�s kid. Meh. I�m going to follow up on that Wednesday. I did find out though, that I can type 62 wpm with 100% accuracy. Take that, Mavis Beacon!

My ankle is still injured, despite my attempts to . . . oh, hell, who am I kidding? I am the worst about taking care of my ankle injuries. I did go back to the podiatrist and he prescribed a cam walker to further immobilize my foot. However, my out-of-pocket for that would have been nearly $200 � yes, fuck that -- so I just ordered a brand-new one from eBay for $40. Thank you, eBay, for letting us about laugh about love . . . again.

Also, because of my ankle, I can�t enjoy my birthday present from the Hubster . . . a Wii Fit�!! He, of course, has been playing it nearly non-stop, and has gone �advanced� on the hula hoop. Whatta guy, eh?

Of course, it could always, always be worse. I could be married to this guy:

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones