Hell is for Children, Apparently
Friday, Sept. 26, 2008 at 7:52 a.m.

The magnificent awittykitty suggested that I come up with cutesy pet names for my . . . um, pet, Spot. That is, my desk pet. He�s a fish, but I figured I could use the same rules of naming that I use for the furbabies I keep at home. So here are the cutesy names for Spot, the fish:
1. Spotty
2. Spotty-Wotty-Woo
3. Swimmer Swimmer Swimmer
4. Scales
5. Fins
6. Bait
7. Eater of Own Poop

Wow, I couldn�t go too far with that one, eh? I think I used up all my creativity last night when we were going to bed, and I started complaining that my Chillow� was all wonky. Hubster said that �Wonky Chillow� sounded like a title of a country song, at which point I immediately launched into a country ballad, starting with the line: My Chillow / has gone all Wonky -- and by the end of the song, the song�s protagonist had just gotten out of jail, had his dog shot by his grandmother, witnessed a train going off a cliff, had conversations with both his Brother-Daddy and his Sister-Wife, and concluded with just about everyone in a three-mile radius (including the previously shot dog � apparently it wasn�t a fatal wound) committing suicide off previously mentioned cliff. Wow. Perhaps there should be a stout fence around that cliff.

It had been a while since I had spontaneously come up with such an epic song, and it was a long time before my giggles subsided enough for me to go to sleep. Seriously. I even peed my pants a little.

I have been furiously knitting lately, and I did finish those Jaywalker Socks:

They turned out quite nice, and I really like the whole toe-up way of doing socks. I�m still a little fuddled on the best way to do the heel � that is, the best way to pick up the stitches in the gusset, as I seem to always end up with loose stitches. But it�s getting better. Right now I�ve started on a lovely tank top using some green bamboo yarn that I had previously tried to knit into a sweater . . . but I ended up frogging because it was acres and acres of stockinette stitch � and I still hadn�t learned how to hide the beginning of a new ball of yarn when knitting in the round well yet. Well, I still haven�t learned that too well, but at least, with the pattern I�m currently doing, it hides better. I�ll put up some pictures when it actually looks like something!

I�m also currently watching a movie called The Children on my Netflix on Demand � and I don�t normally give a review of movies when I�m still in the middle of watching them, but this 1980 stinker is . . . well, a stinker. A small leak in a water pipe at a nuclear power station caused a small, localized cloud of apparently radioactive steam to inexplicably hover over a small section of country road straight out of Madison County. A school bus drove through said steam cloud, and now the children on the bus have turned into homicidal zombies with black fingernails and desperate need to hug adults. The adults, when hugged, seem to burn to death from the inside out. Stupid adults. Can�t they see that their kids just want physical attention? Some positive reinforcement?

It would certainly make an interesting episode of Nanny 911, though!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones