Here's the Easter Bunny, Hooray
Friday, Mar. 21, 2008 at 9:46 a.m.

I�m taking a break from watching a movie at work and knitting another dishcloth to write this entry -- damn I have a great job. The movie I�m watching is the documentary Grass, a history of marijuana use and litigation thereof, as narrated by Woody Harrelson. Well, who else? Anyhoo, I just burst out laughing a few moments ago because starting about, oh, 1956, the general notion was that smoking marijuana was akin to being a Communist. This was of course, during the time of McCarthyism insanity and the necessity to add the prefix �Red� to �China�.

Of course, I am an enlightened child born in 1971 so of course this kind of hysteria just makes me roll my eyes, as I am sure the notion of �but the terrorists will win� will cause the same sort of orbital motion in the generation to come after me. I do however, find it even more hysterical that the very people who have been trying to keep marijuana in the forefront as a �menace� are the very same people who invented the �three martini lunch.� Of course, as a legalized drug, these people are of course, sent off scot-free. Unless you get caught with a DUI, in particular in Arizona, where the newest and stiffest penalties in the country exist. This has, of course, caused a new generation of lawyers who specialize in DUI cases to be advertising on television, most often during Maury Povich, Jerry Springer, and Steve What-his-name (the big bouncer dude who used to be on Jerry Springer). Talk about reaching your target audience, I suppose.

In good news, I have officially lost 21.4 pounds. In 13 weeks. Yippee! I am 1.2 pounds away from my first mini-goal!

In other news, my father was sent home from the hospital, unfortunately still with a catheter as he still has a problem . . . well, going. Of course, he�s eating solid foods and getting around a bit and moving his bowels, so that�s really good. He has an appointment on Monday to get the staples out and to check on whether he can get that durn catheter removed. However, when I answered the phone on Wednesday night (the night Dad got home) the second set of words out of my mother�s mouth (after hello, and do you have a couple of minutes) were my mother screaming how sick she was of smart-ass-know-it-alls who keep telling her what to do and not being helpful or supportive and how B and Bubba are ASSHOLES and SIL is such a BITCH and then Mom burst into tears.

Wow!

Apparently lots of people have been saying that Dad isn�t getting the care he needs, either from my mother (who does her best, even with her total resentment of doing so) or from the Navy hospital that sent him home with the catheter � when I spoke to Bubba, I asked him why this was such a point of contention with him, and he said that it could get infected. I replied that it could get infected at the hospital, and also stated that anyhospital, Navy or not, would have sent him home in the same condition, as Dad was walking a bit, moving his bowels, and eating solid food. Bubba forgets that because his wife (the SIL) drops literally nearly dead at the whiff of any infection, the rest of the world gets the aforementioned kind of treatment and therefore discharge. In fact, when Mom told me that Dad had been sent home with the catheter, my response was, �Sorry about that, I know it�s an extra hassle for you, Mom, but it�s probably easier on Dad right now, considering he doesn�t have a lot of strength to keep getting up and down.�

But anyway, in the Bubba and SIL�s household, I�m considered the �bad child� because I didn�t fly out to FL. I�m thinking now about going out for a weekend maybe in late April. I don�t know. That�s a thought that just occurred to me, so I�ll have to consider it.

Whatever, I don�t mind being the �bad child� since I know that �bad child� in this situation also means �the only child with the sense God give a lemon.�

I appreciate all the virtual hugs and the thoughts and prayers all y�all have been sending. Please also remember to keep the lovely kungfukitten in the same cyber-squishies. You hear that, Kitty? Are your ears burning????

Ta, y�all, have a great weekend, and eat some extra chocolate bunny ears for me!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones