He's My Canary in the Outlet By the Lightswitch Who Watches Over Me
Thursday, Apr. 12, 2007 at 9:43 a.m.

On This Day in 1945, Franklin D. Roosevelt, the only president ever elected to four terms of office, dies of a cerebral hemorrhage in Warm Springs, GA. The following day, Vice President Harry S. Truman assumes the post and is told for the first time about the Manhattan Project.

The Manhattan Project, of course, was the project to develop the first nuclear weapons during World War II by the United States, the United Kingdom and Canada. Formally designated as the Manhattan Engineering District (MED), it refers specifically to the period of the project from 1942-1946 under the control of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, under the administration of General Leslie R. Groves, with its scientific research directed by the American physicist J. Robert Oppenheimer.

Yeah, that was back in the days when the Army Corps of Engineers was still a highly regarded institution. Back when the levees were dry. But were the good ol� boys drinking whiskey and rye? Oh, you bet.

The big news lately in the world is that Anna Nicole Smith�s baby-daddy has been proven via DNA testing, so I can only hope that will clear up some of the airwaves, so that perhaps we can all learn of the death of Kurt Vonnegut, which is much more news-worthy as far as I�m concerned. You haven�t read Slaughterhouse Five? It�s banned, kids, be subversive and anarchic and read it.

In other news, I�m probably one of the few people in the country who believes that Imus shouldn�t be fired for his remarks . . .*** ducks as tomatoes come flying her way *** . . . He should be FINED. Heavily. And so should the station. Lots of money, all given to women�s organizations, and then they should not be allowed to take the deduction on taxes. Hit them where it really hurts!

On a completely different subject, this was probably the strangest remark that came out of my mouth yesterday:

�I�m sorry, Hubster, I pooted on your area.�

The good Hubster took this all in stride (he is married to me, after all) and remarked that since I stopped taking the prednisone my arthritic ankles were swelling up again, and that he would help me keep them elevated.

!!!

God, I love that man. He�s such a good sport. I bet he�d let me do this to him:

And I wouldn�t say (much) if he came home with one of these:

But I�d really have to draw the line here:


|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones