Unloading in the White Zone, No Stopping in the Red Zone! Shutup!
Thursday, Dec. 28, 2006 at 7:44 a.m.

On this day in 1983, Dennis Wilson, original drummer of the Beach Boys, drowned while diving from a boat near Marquesas Pier. He was rather drunk at the time.

You know what the most dangerous words ever uttered are?

�Hey! Watch This!�

Christmas at la casa Valkyrie was quite nice. We spent Christmas eve in Tucson with the ILs and several members of the Hubster�s family. Much rich food was eaten, and Hubster�s sister and BIL gave us a marvelous watering can that looked like a flamingo. This might have been revenge for the moose head-wine rack that we gave them last year, but the problem is that I love kitsch so much that I loved the damn thing. The ILs gave us a dancing, singing saguaro plush cowboy that lights up. And I love that damn thing too.

We got back home in time to head over to Midnight Mass at 10 pm (yes, our Midnight Mass is at 10 pm, I�ve decided it�s best not to ask questions) which was very nice but Hubster began to feel very urpy and he remained that way for a couple of days. We think, we think, that the culprit may be these licorice-filled cookies that MIL makes that are Hubster�s absolute favorite, because he ate two on Christmas Eve and got sick and then ate one last night and got sick again. Poor baby. To be felled in urpiness by your favorite home-made cookie, what could be more depressing?

We did open a couple of stocking gifts when we got home and then opened some more when we got up in the morning, and then I had to go to work. That wasn�t bad. I got paid handsomely for answering the phone four times in six hours. Thank god for Blockbuster. We then opened the rest of the gifts when I got home, and I swear that Hubster of mine makes out like a damned bandit every year. I love buying presents for that man. The absolute hit of the day was the 8 DVDS of MythBusters, though, which Hubster started watching immediately. Hubster, of course, is a geek and an engineer and probably a closet pyromaniac, so he likes to watch stuff go big boom. And actually, I do as well as an out-of-the-closet pyromaniac. Fire! Fire! Fire!

Then, of course, there was the big heavy box with my name on it, although the Hubster said it would be something he could enjoy too, and I had visions of all sorts of sexual hijinks equipment, being the gutter-minded person I am, but it turned out to be even better (well, relatively speaking) � it was a 19� wide-screen flat-screen computer monitor. Well, the better to play computer games on, natch. It�s kind of weird, seeing everything kind of squinched like that, but it will just take some getting used to. In my mind, however, it�s good training for when we finally upgrade to one of those HDTV super mega pictures TVs.

Oh, and just as high-ranking, Hubster presented me with a bottle of 12 YO Glenfiddich single-malt. Oh god, I love that man. I can�t wait until he feels better.

Today at work, however, will be kind of tenuous because we�re moving offices today. But the problem is, we don�t have phones or network hooked up at the new place yet, and my entire job consists of my answering the phones and processing emails. So instead of doing the intelligent thing and perhaps getting another of the offices to handle the phone calls, all calls will be routed to an analog phone, and I get to write down all pertinent information, call a technician, and dictate the trouble ticket over the phone. Just like the old days, ne? The problem is that we�ve (meaning I�ve) spoiled all these customers of ours, with prompt service with a smile. And I have no idea how the emails are getting handled. Ah well. I don�t paid enough to worry much about that.

With any luck, though, my new, smaller cube (that I get to share with someone from the night shift now) won�t have a new phone bank that looks like this:

Holy Analog Lines, Valkyrie! But which the hell one�s the Bat Phone????

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones