The engine in the car goes "clunk"
Tuesday, Mar. 28, 2006 at 6:32 p.m.

Happy Tuesday!

My 1994 Ford Ranger truck is dying. It had some sort of asthma attack on the way home from getting my nails done. It was shaking, lurching, coughing, and shuddering. Now, I have had experiences with dying vehicles before. I used to have a 1983 Ford Tempo, which died a similar death. At the time, though, I was in grad school, and it was all I could do to keep that little bugger on the road. Still, I managed to drive it from Florida to Seattle and back. However, by the time it died, I had done these things to that little cocksucker:

�� replaced the gas tank
�� replaced the fuel filter on numerous occasions
�� replaced the fuel pump twice
�� replaced the rotor bug and entire distributor cap thingy
�� replaced the water pump twice
�� replaced the idle accuator (that was a fun one, I managed to drive from Tuscaloosa to Pensacola with the idle at 55 MPH!
�� replaced the headliner
�� replaced the fill in the blank

The car previous to that one was a 1977 Ford Mustang coupe (God, I loved that car!) and I put a new short block engine in that one and witnessed the carburetor catch on fire. It also stalled on every intersection but I became adept at popping the thing in neutral, restarting it, and popping it back in drive in 2.5 seconds. I eventually refused to drive it any more when the brakes fell out of it while driving on my very hilly undergrad campus in the rain, with only the emergency brake between myself and certain death.

Hubster's answer is to buy a Toyota, and to stay the hell away from Fords. My response is maybe I should trade in before the damn thing drops its engine on the side of the road unless I plan on restoring, which I would now gladly do to that '77 Mustang.

And, actually, Hubster would too.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones