EXTERMINATE EXTERMINATE EXTERMINATE
Sunday, Feb. 12, 2006 at 2:57 p.m.

Hmm. So I guess no one knows Dr. Who�s first name, nor understands the remark about the $54 pledge. (see previous entry)

See, and I really thought smedindy would make a crack about that.

Well, let�s start with the basics. The cartoon shown was part of the daily webcartoon series called Jerkcity. If you look up Jerkcity in the wikipedia, you find this as part of the description: �The strip has no semblance of plot, character development or storyline. The strip has several primary themes, including drinking, drug abuse, homosexual/homophobic activities, gluttony, dick jokes and rants on internet culture and programming codes.�

Well, so yeah, on the surface, it�s not supposed to make sense. And for the most part, it doesn�t. The characters squeal and rave in such non sequiturs that the attempt to make general sense doesn�t seem to work.

The only reason I thought this panel was funny was because of the �$54 pledge� crack, because many times I�ve volunteered to be a person who answered the phones on PBS during pledge weeks, and the gifts were the main reason for people calling in. They�d call to ask for a gift from a show 3 days before. Sure, if that�s what they wanted. I also got the usual number of cranks who wanted to pay for a pledge on their gas credit card, or even better, the savings card from their local grocery. Drunk teenagers asked me out on dates, and little kids would call repeatedly just to chat. But the main draw? That gift you could receive for a $40 minimum pledge. Although, honestly, why would you pay $40 to a receive a mug with the Nova logo, or a roll of duct tape with the name Red Green scrawled on it? Oh, because. I myself am guilty of the same thing � I�ve given money over to PBS to get a Red Dwarf mousepad.

Furthermore, Dr. Who was never actually called �Dr. Who�, he was merely referred to as �The Doctor.� Not that I ever really watched the show. I think I might have been under the influence of extra curricular inhalants ill when I first saw the Daleks and they imposed themselves into my nightmares so well, that I can�t bear to see them again.

I just heard the greatest song on the radio: Joan Crawford Has Risen from Her Grave. What makes that even better is that I had just watched two, count �em, two Joan Crawford movies, Sudden Fear and Mildred Pierce , for which, of course, Joan received the Oscar and much joking by the crew at the Carol Burnett Show (that one was almost as good as the curtain rod in the Gone With the Wind spoof). There was also a nice docu on Joan on the disc as well. Her daughter Christina was one of the interviewees and I got the distinct impression that Christina is still pissed off. Unfortunately, the only image of Joan that most of us have is Faye Dunaway whaling on that little girl screaming �No more wire hangers!� Of course, these days Joan would have been diagnosed possibly bi-polar with extreme OCD and put on a veritable cocktail of uppers, downers, screamers, and laughers.

It�s only a few days until the surgery and I�m experiencing fear, both rational and irrational:

1) I am afraid that I will go under the anesthesia and not wake up.
2) I am afraid that the pain will be terrible and I won�t be able to properly medicate myself.
3) I am afraid that when the staples come out of my incision it will be a scene like Alien.

Like I said, rational and irrational.

At any rate, I don�t know how much I�ll be posting for a while, because I won�t be able to sit at a computer for too long, and that all the pictures that I entertain you all with are at work. But what I�ll do now is throw a bunch of them out here with a quick commentary because I�ve been hanging on to them for a while:

Even if that car is a small one, that�s still one damn big nest and one damn big bird and I�m staying the hell away. However, I think that car would make a nice touch in a coastal redneck front yard. And speaking of rednecks:

It�s Redneck Moving Day again! Still, I suppose it�s better than leaving sofa cushions and other detritus all over the highway.

I said detritus. That�s a $2 word, neener neener! Speaking of neeners:

If basic hygiene is a big deal in this town, I�m staying away. However, I have a feeling that this same town also spawns this kind of shopper:

I mean, I�m not the sharpest dresser, but I do put on shoes and lipstick when I walk out the door. You never know who you�re going to meet, right? Especially when you go to a place like this:

But if you meet someone there, maybe this is a good place to meet said person again:

And then perhaps, after a while, they can visit this government office:

And then they can have a wedding shower like mine where things like this occur:

And they can have the ceremony in a beautiful and exotic place:

And at the wedding reception, they can have wonderful catering:

And then they could go on an exciting and romantic honeymoon:

And then the happy couple can settle down and create a future together:

And they all will live happily ever after, in a little house in a nice little town, snug, safe, and happy.

The end.

See you later, my chickybabies!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones