fixes, sinking spells, and cravings
Wednesday, Oct. 12, 2005 at 10:51 a.m.

Last night I hardly slept at all. I got up and puttered around the house until well after 11:30, went back to bed and slept until about 4:45, when I finally gave up and got up. My only memorable dream: I was on a huge cruise ship and constantly eating pudding.

Since I have been purging sweets from my diet, I have found that I don�t care much anymore for your standard instant pudding. Mousse, yes. Tapioca, oh my yes, I still jones for that. I�ve even discovered that I like rice pudding. But when we go to the salad bar that has pudding on the dessert end, I get some just because, but I have to mix it with the whipped cream to make it more palatable � or mix bananas in the vanilla pudding. Why eat it at all, you ask? Because it is sweet and it�s there and I don�t take many opportunities to eat sweets anymore. We have had a 16 oz bag of the Dark Jedi M&Ms in the fridge since long before the movie came out, and there�s still at least a quarter of the bag in there. And the only time I�ll eat them is when I�m having my little dish of ice cream which is much smaller and much less often than the Hubster�s dish of ice cream.

I got re-weighed and measured for the first time since joining Curves (which I have been informed is owned of the right-wing anti-choice agenda, but seeing as how each Cruves is an independently owned franchise, I�m not sure how that works. I don�t think there�s any subliminal messages in the music that is played, which, by the way, includes Michael Jackson and Twisted Sister, so I really have no idea what the hidden agenda is, explain it to me, please) and I was pleased to find out that I have lost 1.5� inches overall, 2.5 lbs, and 3.56 lbs. of fat. So I�ve actually reduced in the four weeks that I�ve been there, which tickled the heck out of me, considering I haven�t really made any more changes to my diet. I guess I�ll keep going.

So dig this: yesterday I attended a ribbon cutting of a new restaurant in the Chamber. It�s a joint called the PA Connection, and they specialize in Pittsburgh style sammiches, Philly style sammiches, and $1.75 bottled beer. That�s not the happy hour price. That�s all day, every day. Sure, the selection is Miller Lite, and the like, but then he also has Iron City, Corona, and Stella something from Belgium. A guy named Sal cooks all the food and he makes the meatballs himself. All the sammiches are $4.75 and under. And they�re huge. And the Burgh sammiches have the fries and slaw right on there. Yum! So, if you�re in Tempe, AZ, go to 4th street and Mill, upstairs (where Ziggy�s used to be, if you know the area).

Yes, I did say that the Burgh sammiches have the fries ON THE SANDWICH. I don�t know, I�ve only been to Pittsburgh once and this delicacy slipped by me. It sounds like a wonderful thing to have after downing a case of Iron City beer. At a Steelers tailgate party. At 3 am. The Brits have something similar, a chip botty, which, when I had one, were steak fries on a Kaiser roll. Carb hell, or heaven, depending on your outlook. I really preferred the scotch egg, a hard-boiled egg wrapped in sausage, served cold.

Anyhoo, I�m all for cheap eats and suds.

Here�s something to try next time you grill burgers: put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on there and scarf it down before the bun gets soggy. It is a strange but delightful taste treat, even when sober.

IT IS TOO, YOU INFIDELS!

Geez, you people have no sense of culinary adventure. Excuse me while I drown a raw oyster in tequila and hot sauce.

* slurp *

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones