ah -- can't even bring up the words
Monday, Sept. 05, 2005 at 1:11 p.m.

Well, POOP. Both of the horrendous movies I brought with me to work are damaged � one is broken clean through � so I can�t watch either one. I am now stupendously bummed because I now cannot pass my time with either Rock and Roll High School or The Incredibly Strange Creatures Who Stopped Living and Became Mixed-Up Zombies. And yes, that is a real movie. Look it up on blockbuster.com.

So anyhoo, I will have to spend my time on my reading or writing out the bills I brought with me, or even -- gasp -- working.

AAAAAUUUUUGGGGGHHHH!

It actually is, oddly enough, good to be back. You know how you have a wonderful time on vacation yet when you get home, it feels really good to be there? The house was so big after being in a 8�x15� stateroom for the better part of the week. I did enjoy the heck out of my cruise, though, however, it WAS the one with the fatal gas accident at the end of it. We were wondering why they shuttled us off so quickly.

We didn�t smell anything too funky beyond the dead fish/quagmire smell you get in most seaports. We were sitting poolside waiting for our tag color to be announced and I said, �Hey, sirens. We must be back in L.A.� Before we got off the boat, there were at least four fire trucks, four EMT vehicles, a number of fire chief vehicles and an LA county HAZMAT truck.

Coming soon from Blockbuster.com: Reefer Madness, with any luck. Or Birth of a Nation, how�s that for polar opposites?

Trash reading right now: Fatalby Michael Palmer. This bloke has written several books that are what I would call �Conspiracy by Medicine� and are quite enjoyable, but a little convoluted. My library however, doesn�t have The Sisterhood which was allegedly the �textbook� that Genene Jones read to help her along with her baby-killing spree. On the boat I read Everything She Ever Wanted by Ann Rule, which is about a complete narcissist with delusions of grandeur, Pat Taylor, who is so certifiably NUTS yet still has everyone bending over backwards (and forwards, some of them) to do her will, it�s amazing. Yet, she was still sent to prison for attempt to murder her grandparents-in-law via arsenic poisoning. Arsenic, for crying out loud! You�d think she�d read Flowers in the Attic or something.

We were able to get CNN on the boat and of course, the news everywhere we went was on the destruction of the Gulf Coast. Fortunately, we were able to get a hold of my folks in Pensacola and they were fine. They lost power and water for half a day, but no damage to their house. Gas, however, is nearly impossible to find and they have to keep going to all of Daddy�s doctor appointments. Still, it�s an effort to keep Nick from becoming Nearly Footless Nick, so they�ll have to figure something out. Bubba is going back and forth to B�ham due to SIL being back in the hospital. She has a bad infection in her cranial cavity and the repair to her brow bone collapsed, causing her to have 2 surgeries in quick succession. She will have to have to repair done again as well, once she�s over this bout of IV antibiotics. Read HERE for the reason of her original hospitalization, in case you missed it.

I can�t really say anything about Katrina that hasn�t already been mentioned. But I will say a couple of things:

I hope they bring in Dutch engineers to rebuild the levees. Those people know how to build a goddamned dyke.

I first saw the levees in New Orleans when I was about � 8 or 10, I guess. We went to Caf� Du Monde and Brennan�s (for breakfast, obviously). I remember asking my Dad about them and he explained what the levees did. I asked if the water would ever get higher than the levees, and he supposed they could, and then the city would get flooded. I said, �That�s kind of a dumb way to build a city, isn�t it?�

Hindsight is 20/20, but that still doesn�t excuse Bush from being an idiot son of an Asshole.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones