It's a Hostage Yarn Situation
Tuesday, Apr. 28, 2009 at 7:24 a.m.

So I�ve been feeling a little tenuous lately, (neener, btw) and I know it�s because life for me is a little out of whack at the moment. However, I am one of those types who lives her life in comparison to others and since I mostly deal with Hubster, it�s slightly difficult not to resent his laissez-faire-ed-ness. I mean, the guy is so laid back he has difficulty seeing over his pelvis. When action is needed, of course, he�s right there in the thick of things, but mostly he�s thinking, �Why the hell do you get yourself so worked up over things?� and of course the ubiquitous �Have you taken your medications today?� Which then makes me want to smack him, and then afterwards I go into introspection about, well, everything in general.

*sigh*

How about some minutae.

I did sell a teeny portion of my yarn stash on Saturday, and I came home with less than I went with, despite bringing home a few new balls of sock yarn. Which any self-respecting knitter will you does not take up any space in the Stash. Sock yarn is not included in the Stash, regardless of how much sock yarn one has. Even if it�s a whole bin on its own. Because socks go relatively quickly and sock yarn doesn�t take up any room on the space and time continuum. In fact, I just finished a new pair of socks:

This is the yarn I bought in P�cola in January. In fact, that was a slightly bizarre experience. I went to this yarn store (there�s only two in P�cola, and this one happens to be across the street from the large box store from hell that will remain unnamed *cough* wal-fart *cough*). The yarn store was a fairly typical one: small, and crammed with fiber from floor to ceiling. Mostly one or two skeins of everything, and shitloads of novelty stuff that no self-respecting knitter actually works with in order to make something wearable. But of course, there was a bit of sock yarn. I found something rather nice to take back to M, who takes care of my Knitting Group when I have to go out of town. And then I spied the yarn for the socks above just sitting on a table in a pile of other stuff. I snatched it immediately (or rather, it leapt into my hand of its own accord) and so, I then went to the counter. It took a bit to actually get the woman�s attention, wince she was spouting vitriol to someone on the phone, but I waited for a bit. Finally:

Valkyrie: Hi. Nice shop you have.
Angry Yarn Shop Woman (hereafter AYSH): Uh-huh.
Valkyrie: Tell me, do you have any local yarns? Local spinners?
AYSW: People here don�t know what to do with good yarn. They just buy crap from across the street. If I had any local spinners, I wouldn�t sell it anyway. No one here knows good from bad, and anything spun here wouldn�t be any good.
Valkyrie: Oh. Well, okay, I�d just like to buy these.
AYSW: *sigh* Did you get this skein from the table?
Valkyrie: Um, yes. I�m sorry. Was it not for sale?
AYSW: Well, it�s supposed to be for this woman who comes in regularly, but she hadn�t paid me for it.
Valkyrie: So. . . you�re holding it for her?
AYSW: Well, she came in last Thursday, and she said she�d pay for it on Saturday, but she didn�t come in, and now it�s Wednesday. She comes in all the time, but she never has the money to pay for anything. But I was going to hold it for her, but she hasn�t paid for it.
Valkyrie: Oh. Well, I�d like to buy it, but if you�re holding it for her . . .
AYSW: Well, she hasn�t paid for it. *sigh* I suppose I could order her another skein, but then she never has any money to pay to anything. No one in this town buys anything good.
Valkyrie: I have cash, and I�d like to buy that yarn.
AYSW: But I was holding it for her, and I�d have to buy another skein, but she never has money to buy anything.
Valkyrie: I have cash right here in my hand. I want to buy some yarn.
AYSW: She did say she wanted it.
Valkyrie: Look, I have money here in my hand. I can buy the skein of yarn with this cash I have right here, or you don�t have to sell it to me. It�s your call. I have money right now, and I can buy the yarn with it, or not.
AYSW: Fine.

Holy cats!

Obviously I ended up with the yarn, since there�s the evidence above, but . . . man! Lady, I think you�re in the wrong business. Or just wrong about being in business in general.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones