Skinnamarinkadinkydink
Thursday, Jul. 17, 2008 at 8:19 a.m.

Oh, goodness, where to start? So I got a call from the �rents that Dad is still chugging along but his toe ulcer is getting steadily worse. There has been talk about removing the toe, but the vascular surgeon says Pops is only running on one artery in that leg (instead of three) and the podiatrist says that if the toe is removed, that doesn�t mean that the wound made by the amputation will heal either. All the doctors say that there�s no infection but Dad was put back on Augmentin just in case. Oy. However, he does have only a few more radiation treatments to go and then he�s free from that for a month or so, when he gets another CAT scan to see what the colon cancer is doing. Mom finally got a copy of the report from the neuro-psychologist who has been monitoring Dad�s Alzheimer�s and she�s kind of pissed because she didn�t like what the doctor said about her. Apparently, she is very resistant to putting Dad into long-term resident care.

No, really??

More and more, it seems that caregivers (the radiation nurses, Dad�s internist, etc) are getting more concerned about Dad�s belligerent attitude and rather nasty demeanor, but Mom pushes that off, saying that Dad doesn�t feel good, and he isn�t always that way to her, just when he�s tired. Man. Hubster (and I, really) concur that Dad should be transistioned to long-term care, if for no other reason than to give Mom a break, but Mom can�t comprehend the idea of �going to visit� him somewhere in a facility.

I know in my last entry that I wondered about moving them out here or even the possibility of my going out there more often, but I received some great feedback about that and how, well, to put it simply, it would be soul-destroying for me. And y�all are right, it would be bad for me. Excessively bad.

In my own news, I went to see a podiatrist myself because, dammit, my feet hurt. Apparently, I have a congenital deformity in both of my feet! Yippee! So I get orthotics soon. I haven�t yet had the cast made of my feet. I am mourning � a little bit � the notion that I have to give over to more sensible shoes when I had grand ideas in my head that when I reached goal weight I was going to get some of the greatest kitten-heeled-knock-me-down-and-boff-me-senseless variety, but I suppose I�ll just have to find some that fit the orthotics. However, I was thrilled to learn that my feet hurting was not solely because of my weight.

I have to take the victories when I can.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones