Scattin' with Quasimodo
Monday, May. 26, 2008 at 10:29 a.m.

I�m at work. Meh. Let�s MeMe.

What I was doing ten years ago: I was starting my brand-new job here in Arizona. One week before, I had loaded up my little pickup truck and hit the on-ramp to Interstate 10 heading west, asking myself �Dear God, what am I doing???�

The answer at the time was, �I don�t know either but you�ll figure it out.�

I arrived at the apartment complex that I had picked out via the Internet (still slightly new to me at the time) and slept on an air mattress that served as my couch during the day. I walked around the corner to the grocery store (that I thought smelled of cat food) that specialized in Hispanic foods and drove around the valley and got lost nearly every single day.

Then I started my job which I actually enjoyed for quite a long time.

Five things on my to-do list today:

1) Put mail together to drop off before I leave work today (yes, I know it won�t get picked up until tomorrow, but it will be in an outgoing mailbox in an airconditioned building and out of my hair, which is the most important part)
2) Knit. Here at work I�m starting a new pile of those foofie slippers (because I know people I gave them to last year are going to want new pairs soon. Really, what do you people do with them??) and at home I finished a lovely pair of socks but now I�m starting a new pair, this time from the toe up Oooooooooh.
3) Go to Michael�s to burn a 50% off coupon and perhaps get some more yarn to knit with.
4) Run by Goodwill to drop off those old purses of mine and to see if there�s any decent yarn to sneak home. Besides, it�s Dollar Day and sometimes I can still find something in the afternoon for a buck. Like the time Hubster and I found a really really nice, nearly-brand-new life jacket for him to wear when we go kayaking. For a buck!
5) Enjoy the evening with the Hubster. He�s grilling BBQ ribs for dinner. Mmmmmm. Ribs.

Snacks I enjoy: Yikes. There�s quite a few. I love pretzels and popcorn. I now prefer to get the nearly fat-free popcorn, but then I spray that fake butter spray on it until it�s almost gooey, so I�m probably not doing myself any favors. What else? Beef jerky. Cheese. Yogurt. Baby carrots. Those one-point Weight Watchers cakeys.

Things I�d do if I was a billionaire: Like most anyone else, definitely travel. I�d also put money into Alzheimer�s research and Sarcoidosis research. I�d donate quite a bit to my church. I�d also open my own yarn store, get me a killer car and a second home on an island somewhere.

Places I�ve lived: Pensacola, FL; Tuscaloosa, AL; State College, PA; Prestonsburg, KY; Tacoma, WA; Tempe, AZ; Mesa, AZ. Not too many.

So earlier in this entry I mentioned that I finished a lovely pair of socks and here they are:

This yarn is a merino/bamboo/nylon handpainted yarn I found at a local yarn store � Mom bought me two skeins so that I could make her a pair as well. I�m sending her pictures of this pair to see if she would like these � I rather like them myself (and why not?) but Mom said she wanted a plain pair. Eh. So boring to knit, all those miles of stockinette! Bah!

Anyhoo, I�ve got Hunchback of Notre Dame (with Lon Chaney, natch) and John Barrymore�s Jekyll and Hyde calling my name � yeah, you thought I never watched anything of substance, did you? Well, you weren�t at my house when I was watching The Zero Girls and Cosmos War of the Planets, were you? Ha ha!!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones