Let's All Go To the Lobby
Friday, Apr. 04, 2008 at 7:55 a.m.

Well, I�m slightly miffed because I didn�t get my bad movie for today from Netflix. I was really looking forward to that compilation of short films from the fifties about social issues for teenagers, like the kind that were made fun of on MST3K. What I find very amusing is that my mother, who is also a MSTie herself, remembers some of those movies from her own high school days.

Anyhoo, as recently seen on the Scotvalkyrie�s Bad Movie Trip:

The Fury: this 1978 movie was Brian DePalma�s followup to Carrie, also starring Amy Irving and none other than Kirk Douglas and his chin! Kirk�s son is a normal psychokinetic whiz kid, but he gets kidnapped for the nefarious purposes of Childress, although we never quite find out what those purposes are. Anyhoo, Kirk goes on a manhunt to find his son, who goes on to rather lose his mind a bit. Amy Irving is also a psychokinetic whiz kid who begins to begins to have visions about Kirk�s kid and the experiments being done on him. The highlight of the movie (beside�s Kirk�s chin) is the utter explosion and disintegration of a person in a special effect beyond what I�d expect from a 1978 movie. Anyway, it�s quite good. Features Darryl Hannah and Laura Innes, and you can see James Belushi in the background of the beach scene. Unless you�re looking at Amy Irving in her bikini. Damn, but that girl looks like two aspirin on an ironing board.

Die! Die! My Darling!: Holy cow, it�s Tallulah Bankhead!! And Stephanie Powers!! Stephie plays Pat, the former fianc� of Tallulah�s son Stephen, who has died. Pat (who is now engaged to Alan) has come to visit Tallulah to give her condolences, but Tallulah has found Jesus in one major way and has decided that Pat needs to have her soul saved because �betrothed, married, it�s all the same in the eyes of God�. Yikes! Donald Sutherland makes one of his first movie appearances in this one as a sweet simple-minded fellow on Tallulah�s estate.

Who knows what�s next on the pike. I�ve got 300 movies in the damn queue, and I can�t get them fast enough. I know there�ll be 3 new ones when I get back home from our driving tour of California next week. Fun fun fun!!

In other news, I have officially lost 22.8 pounds. Yay me!

� Holy cow, I think my Lexapro just kicked in. I�m much less frantic all of a sudden. Yikes. I don�t know if this is good or bad, but I suddenly feel like meditating and communicating with a whales sounds CD.

Okay, yeah, that�s bad. I think I have a bad Bela Lugosi disc in my cubby here in my cube. Only a dose of bad moviedom will kick me out of this almost-ritalin-like low I�m suddenly on.

Have a good weekend, kids!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones