Ta Ra Loo La Roo Lal
Monday, Mar. 17, 2008 at 11:22 a.m.

Okay, since I have befuddled most of you with the remaining movie quotes, here are the answers of the unguessed quotes:

1. �You bet I am. And you should have caught me before my operation!� This was the character Phroso, the clown in Tod Browning�s Freaks. He says this to Venus, a young lady who apparently has an act involving seals. This movie is of course, the one with the inordinately large percentage of circus freaks to �norm� circus performers and where we get the phrase, �Gooble Gabble, One of Us, One of Us�. Oh, and by the way, we never find out what the heck operation Phroso was referring to.

4. �Locked, from the inside. That can only mean one thing. And I don't know what it is.� This was uttered by Sam Diamond as played by Peter Falk in the movie Murder By Death, one of the funniest movies ever. And I mean ever. Where else can you find a movie with Peter Sellers, James Coco, Maggie Smith, David Niven, Peter Falk, Elsa Lancaster, Eileen Brennan, Nancy Walker, Estelle Winwood, Alec Guinness, and Truman Capote???

7. �The man, yes; the child, no.� Uttered by the head Bride of Satan-ish in Manos, the Hands of Fate. One of the worst movies ever. One of the most popular MST3K movies ever. A good number of the cast overdosed or committed suicide before the movie actually screened. You do get to see a guy getting massaged to death. Yippee!

9. �Ruber? Who the hell is Ruber??� Caterwauled by Myra Gardener (Sylvia Miles) in the wonderful wonderful Evil Under the Sun. Utterly delightful, with Peter Ustinov, Maggie Smith, and Diana Rigg. Soundtrack by Cole Porter.

10. �Bring us a pitcher of beer every seven minutes until somebody passes out. And then bring one every ten minutes.� Okay, I really thought someone would get this, but I guess it�s a bit more obscure than I thought. This was Thornton Melon (Rodney Dangerfield) in Back to School. Did any of you try a Triple Lindy on a diving board after this movie?

Well, of course today is Saint Patrick�s Day. Most people assume that I am Irish, I guess because of my red hair and bad temper and general drunken behavior. The truth is I�m not Irish. I do have red hair and a bad temper, but I attribute the first to various bottles of hair color over the past 20 years, and the latter to general grumpiness and lack of chocolate. The general drunkenness, well � I actually have become quite a lightweight over the years since I met the Hubster and left the evil previous place of employment where �they� were doing their best to slowly and painfully kill me with stress, no-fun chemicals, and low air flow.

And the truth is, I really don�t care for Guinness. Sorry. I just don�t like to chew my beer. I prefer Newcastle or Harp or Kilt Lifter (local microbrew) but I also like me some Pacifico.

The other truth is that I am quarter Scottish/English � this is interesting because the English sept of my Scottish clan kept marrying each other. No wonder we�re all a little twisted. I�m also quarter Austrian/French, which I think did a lot for my sentence structure. Then I�m fully one-half Polish, upon which I blame my broad hips, thick legs, and the need to feed everyone within a radius of one-quarter mile. My hair and skin tone looks like no one else in the family, although my body shape is completely my mother�s and my face structure is completely my Aunt D�s. My Bubba, on the other hand, completely has the build and facial structure of Grandpa G. (my mother�s father), including the �cro-magnon brow�.

And going back to Saint Patrick�s Day, sometimes I have a problem with the idea of drunken nonsense on what is a religious feast day (the color green actually being unlucky in Ireland and the fact that Ireland never had snakes to begin with notwithstanding) but mostly because the dinks that will be out partying today are really in fact amateurs. I may be a lightweight, but I still maintain my professional drinking status, thank you very much.

And thank you very much for being so bloody helpful:

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones