"So" with a needle and thread
Monday, Mar. 03, 2008 at 7:54 a.m.

So I really don't want to start the day by griping. It really does nothing for my soul or my digestion. So instead I'm going to eat my Chocky Calcium and take another drink of my diet soda and take a deep breath (not all at the same time, I don't want to choke) and move on a bit.

So where was I last week? Well, I was about and lurking a bit in the Land of Diaries but I was as surprised as everyone else to see the page changes. I thought I had stumbled on to the wrong page or that Diaryland had folded and I had reached one of those "buy this domain" pages . . . but anyway, the new page is . . . different. In thinking about the old one, with its goofy animal drawings, that page seemed sweet in a way that spoke of Love's Baby Soft� and Bonne Bell Lip Smackers� (both of which I lurve, by the way). The new page is attempting to be more grown-up, and I'm not used to where things are. Oh well. As long as my own page doesn't change suddenly of its own volition, I'll be fine.

So Hubster and I had a lovely time up in the NE trying to snowboard. I say "trying" but what I really mean is falling down a lot in the snow. So much falling down, in fact, that it was a good thing that I accidentally left the camera in the car when we went to the ski area because otherwise it would have been smashed. I'm not sure what happened; I actually did fairly well snowboarding in Idaho. I could do a J-turn and snowplow a bit and stay on my feet for 30 seconds or so. Not this time. Even though I did manage to keep my footing after exiting the ski lift (a feat I never mastered in Idaho) I went down the bunny slope completely backwards, bent at the waist, copping a squat, clawing frantically at the snow as I tried to bring myself upright enough to even contemplate a J-turn before falling once again. I left a six-inch deep trench as I clawed my way down the hill. Backwards. Into the wind. My instructor finally gave up on me and moved on to Jay, a fellow in the group who had never been on snow before that day, who mastered beginner's carving in about four minutes.

I think I'll stick with skiing.

As it turns out, the Jacuzzi room that Hubster and I thought we were getting as a luxury addition turned out to be a complete and utter necessity, as I was bruised from tit to teakettle, as well as completely shredding my triceps by scrabbling at the snow for about 3 hours. Hubster fared much better than I, and he moved ahead to the more advanced class and his instructor kept looking at me with pity and suggested to Hubster that I stick with skiing. But still, he's not in the best of shape either, and he also spent some time falling. So we folded both ourselves into the Jacuzzi, and kept adding hot water until we were more pruney than we had ever thought previously possible. I think when we weren't sleeping in the room, we were in that Jacuzzi. And the Jacuzzi was in the actual bed area, so we got to watch a Dirty Jobs marathon instead of the Oscars�.

We'll go again next year when we've both lost some more weight.

In WW news, I have slowed down my weight loss a bit and now I'm down by 16.6 pounds but any weight loss is good weight loss. So Yay me!

So going back for a moment to my bad attitude regarding work, I'll just keep following the advice of the sign below � which I think I got from the lovely pennyjar:

Just keep swimming . . . Just keep swimming . . . Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming . . .

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones