Turn Your Head and Cough
Thursday, Dec. 20, 2007 at 8:16 a.m.

So here in Arizona, where we broke the record for number of 100+ degree days, the hottest days in November, and general cooking-eggs-on-the-dashboard-even-Satan's-too-hot temperatures, we've now had 12 or so days in a row where the temperature is below average. And there's snow in the high country! Like a near-60-inch snowpack! What the heck is going on?

Whatever, I love it. I hope it stays this way for a long time. I really got bummed out last year when we were getting 97 degree days in early April. That's just too damned hot.

So my days have been tooling along just fine. So far I've escaped the cold and flu season, mostly by banishing anyone remotely sick away from my cubicle. Hubster is now the Monster MacDaddy of all Cookiedom by making at least 30 dozen cookies of all different varieties, now that he knows which container holds the Bisquik (being, of course, the one that says "Bisquik"). He's made two kinds of chocolate chip, shortbread wreaths, frosted sugar, bird's nests, orange sugar, and English teacakes. So far, I've managed a really gooey batch of fudge that wouldn't set properly, so I added eggs and flour and made ooey-gooey-sink-to-your-stomach-like-a-rock-need-a-big-old-glass-of-milk brownies. Penuche and proper fudge is still on my mind. I've gotten all the Christmas gifts mailed off, although I still have couple to wrap for under the tree. But no more shopping, except for food items. I actually have to work on Christmas day proper, but that will be okay, as I get paid handsomely to do it, and work on Christmas (and New Year's, for that matter) consists of me sitting and watching movies while I wait for the phone to ring. Hubster gets the chore of cooking on that day, and I think steaks are in order. Nothing says Arizona Christmas like steak. Mmmmmmm. Beef.

Is anyone paying attention to the college bowl games this year? I know I'm not, especially since the hometown team (the ASU SunDevils, natch) got looked over after their good season. The matchups have no intensity for me, and now that the Fiesta Bowl is no longer in my town (Glendale might as well be in another state for me) I'm simply not interested. The Insight Bowl has taken over in town, but I'm not even sure who is playing. I have bit more vested interest in the Fiesta Bowl as I used to work for a company who did a lot for the parade and the game, like all the banners in the stadium, and I once painted a special goalpost net with the Fiesta Bowl logo, and painted a bunch of footballs shiny gold. The net was an interesting thing to paint. Every now and again I miss that job, but then I remember the late nights, being covered with paint, and breathing and absorbing bad chemicals that made me sick and have no sense of smell.

On a sad note, my father has been officially diagnosed with 3rd stage Alzheimer's, which puts him in the mid-range for the disease. My folks are coming to visit us in January, and I will again make the effort to make my mother see that she can actually get help, especially since she is being very passive-aggressive about taking care of him. Over and again she has said, "I went to school to be a teacher, not a nurse," to which both Bubba and I reply, "Then hire a nurse!" Oh, no, no. Both Bubba and I have pledged that we will both get baseline mental acuity tests done in the near future, as it seems that early-onset Alzheimer's runs in our family. I actually have an appointment for a test in January. Then I will get tested again at age forty. I only hope that research will continue the way it has been recently.

So guess what I've branched out to in knitting? Socks! I actually took a class in sock-knitting, and I've been working on a pair for myself. I hope to have pictures in the near future. So far, they've been fun, and I'm excited about wearing socks that actually fit my feet and calves. Of course, I still have my cardigans and hats and some slippers that I need to finish, most recently a matching hat and slipper set for the PABB, who has been hit by the Karma Bus in a such a big fat way that I'm thinking I shouldn't call her the PABB and really mean it anymore, so I'm using the acronym just for continuity's sake. So, when she gets better and comes back, if she goes back to the PABB-dom, then everything will just flow nicely.

Speaking of flow, here is a picture of a very interesting fountain. Tell me why you think I think it's interesting (hee hee):

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones