Another Not-So-Nudie Musical
Monday, Nov. 26, 2007 at 8:32 a.m.

On This Day in 1975, Manson family member Lynette "Squeaky" Fromme found guilty of attempting to assassinate President Ford. It is unclear why anyone would want to assassinate such an uninteresting president.

So the Hubster and I had a faboo weekend. Once again, we were able to partake in a free hotel room (for anyone who has been reading this diary for a while and wonders how in the world I keep getting these free hotel stays, I won a huge raffle basket back in May that was chock full of hotel stays, free admissions to this and that, and free dinners and such, so I definitely will return to that event wherein I won the basket and will pay a bit of cash to about 80 tickets and put them all in one basket, which is how I managed to win. Anyway . . . ) But this time the hotel was so close to home that we managed to stop back by the house 3 times during the course of the weekend. Well, I suppose that when you�re about 6 miles from home and you need a tire pressure gauge and a big bottle of ibuprofen, it doesn�t make sense to drive 5 miles just to buy new when you can go a little further and pick up the mail in the bargain. Friday night, we drove over to central Phoenix to see Debbie Does Dallas the Musical and I was excessively delighted by the whole production. The stage was hardly bigger than a dining room table, but they managed to cram eight dancing singing crazy people on it along with some of the cleverest set pieces. Their next show is Christopher Durang�s Titanic, which made me cackle � Durang, of course, being one of the most insane playwrights ever � and now the Hubster is scared. I think he liked the show, but he�s the type that�s only ever been to big hi-falutin� productions, not shows lit by hardware clip-on lights in the back of an old warehouse next to a roll-up door that whistled every time the wind blew.

On Saturday, we had free admission to the Heard Museum, which mainly features Native American crafts from the 18th � 20th centuries, amazingly preserved with a lot of information about the makers and the heritage of the communites. It�s an absolutely beautiful museum. It had been a few years since I had been there, and they had undergone a fantastic renovation. There was also a small installation of some modern art by contemporary Native American artists and some very interesting jewelry pieces made by some young artists.

Of course, we also spent a prerequisite amount of time watching cable TV in the hotel, so we got a fix of Planet Earth and Dirty Jobs, although we never got to see any Mythbusters. That was disappointing.

Oh, yes, and boffing, there was a bit of that.

Sunday morning we went over to the local school of Massage Therapy and got hour-long massages for $25. Not bad, but my student was way too gentle, even though I told him to step up the pressure. I think he was actually massaging the air a half an inch above my skin.

So it was the ultimate girly weekend, ne? Theatre, a museum, massages? All I needed was a manicure, a hair appointment, and shoe shopping. Although Hubster would have probably imploded before that happened. He was lucky that he got �lucky� though. Just like we�re lucky to live in a country where we get signs like this:

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones