Cranial Smoke!
Tuesday, Oct. 30, 2007 at 8:01 a.m.

On This Day in 1938, CBS radio announces that glistening, black-eyed Martians have landed at Grover's Mill, New Jersey. Luckily for the extraterrestrials, the news is announced during a Mercury Theatre program and later discounted as a work of fiction. Needless to say, the event causes widespread panic before the government manages to clamp a lid on it.

Can you imagine having to tell your boss why you didn�t show up for work that night? That you were hiding from non-existant aliens? Man, especially during a depression, that would be a shitty way to lose your job.

So here�s a meme that I stole from poolagirl, who in turn grabbed this meme from la-the-sage who grabbed it from cosmicrayola.

The object is to use the first letter of your name to identify things.

1. Famous singer/band: Badfinger, The Beatles, The Beastie Boys, Bowling for Soup, The B-52s

2. Four letter word: Bonk, Boob

3. Street name: Broadway, natch!

4. Color: Blue, Burgundy, Black, Baby-shit Brown

5. Gifts/Presents: Baubles, Bangles, and Beads

6. Vehicle: Boat or Bicycle

7. Things in a Souvenir Shop: Baby onesies with an inane saying on them

8. Boy Name: Bobby, Benton, Brian

9. Girl Name: Briar, Bianca, Beth

10. Movie Title: Beneath the Valley of the Ultra-Vixens (It is too a real movie!)

11. Drink: Beer, Bourbon, Blow Job

12. Occupation: Blow Job Giver Beekeeper!

13. Celebrity: Bill Clinton . . . and Britney Spears (eek!)

14. Magazine: Better Homes and Gardens

15. US City: Boise, Buffalo

16. Pro Sports Team: (Cincinnati) Bengals, Buffalo Bills

17. Reason for Being Late for Work: Bonking by Hubster, Back Pain

18. Something You Throw Away: Bathwater

19. Things You Shout: �BITCH!� or �BUGGER!� or even "By the blistered nipples of St. Mary, it�s hot today!"

20. Cartoon Character: Bugs Bunny

That was fun! It�s amazing how blank your mind goes when you actually think about stuff like this. Is it normal to feel bits of your brain actually churn when you think about this kind of stuff? Or is it just me? Or is it just the hangover?

I jest. I�m not hungover. Sometimes I wish I were. Actually, I wish I were just drinking. And it�s not as if I don�t have a ready and amply supply of the stuff, it�s just that . . . well, I don�t think about actually getting out the bottle. I�m generally thinking about other things, and knitting just keeps my hands too busy to drink a lot. Speaking of knitting, here�s a couple more dishcloths:

Hubster asked me if that last one was a menorah, which I guess it could be. If you squinted. Or didn�t have a clear picture of what a menorah actually was.

Saturday, Hubster and I participated in a disaster preparedness drill done by one of our local hospitals: they wanted to administer 1000 flu shots within 3 hours. It was going to be free, so we queued up and went through a flu shot drive-thru. It was actually very well planned out, and there were cops and firefighters directing all the traffic (which was even diverted so that we could only come in from one direction) and we were in line, filled out paperwork, hung our arms out the car window, inoculated, and gone within an hour! We were actually very impressed with the whole set-up. The nurses were so excited that one completely missed Hubster�s injection site with the bandage � by a whole inch � and both nurses dropped the syringe caps inside our car. Ahead of us, there was a mini-van full of kids, and you should have seen the nurses swarm into that van. I don�t think those kids knew what got them.

What can I say? It�s kind of sad when such organization is a refreshing sight. Are we so jaded by poor service these days? Well, yeah. Perhaps we need to have higher expectations and take people to task (but not yell and scream) when they don�t meet our expectations. And follow the Golden Rule!

Of course, Hubster says if a suicidal person follows the Golden Rule, then it�s okay for that suicidal person to commit murder.

Then he wonders why I call him freakish. Heh heh.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones