Even Their Uzis are Pink
Monday, Oct. 29, 2007 at 3:40 a.m.

On This Day in 1929, the value of the New York Stock Exchange tumbles 11% in a widespread panic. Thousands of people lose their life savings as 16,410,030 shares change hands. Black Tuesday marks the beginning of the Great Depression.

The thing is, I know nothing about how the stock market works. I can�t even pretend to understand. Whenever the stock information comes on the news, my eyes just glaze over quicker than a southern 7-Up� ham, mostly because it just seems like some sort of high-function gambling. Isn�t that really what it is? Hubster has an amount of stock, but he understands these kinds of things better. His father made a few wise investments as well, but I�ve mentioned before how his parents are my financial heroes.

Conversation with Hubster:
Valkyrie: Hey, my incision is looking pretty good.
Hubster: Yes, it is.
Valkyrie: Heh-heh, I�ve got a Frankenstein belly. Feed my Frankenstein, baby.
Hubster: If you had a couple more scars, maybe you�d have an arrow on your tummy.
Valkyrie: Oh, like you need directions, honey.

I�m feeling pretty good these days. I�m scheduled to go back to work in 3 weeks or so, which is okay. I�m making Hubster a little crazy because I don�t get to talk to people during the day, so he gets the brunt of my conversational madness, mostly just when all he wants to do is watch the news. Poor guy.

For some reason, I got hit with a Karma bus at the end of last week, but then a large chunk of it was more of a �let�s do this thing that might get me in trouble and see how long I can get away with it� sort of thing. To explain, I am a Mary Kay consultant � yeah, you didn�t see that coming, did you? What can I say, I like the products and it�s a good source of some extra income. However, it is against the tenets of MK for consultants to have an ad in the yellow pages � which I think is a really dumb rule. Directors can have ads, but not consultants. I figure, if I�m willing to pay for the thing, and it�s my business anyway, why should it matter? So I placed the ad and had it running for some time, but then last Thursday I get a certified letter from The Company stating I have committed venial sin (no, not mortal) and I must change my MK phone number as listed in the ad with no forwarding number, so there.

Isn�t that dumb?

I was pretty pissed off, and still am, to some degree. I was ready to tell MK where to put their cleanser. My director is willing to call the company but I know how that�s going to end � with MK simply stating this is how they do business, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end, amen.

Which is, in my mind, no answer at all.

Truly, I like MK, but I�ve haven�t seen a business so entrenched in the past. Do you know that they still require their consultants to wear pantyhose? Um, I know that the company in based in TX but I don�t think Mary Kay was ever in Phoenix in August. I think pantyhose contributes to global warming, both in their manufacture and wearing, thank you very much, and what do you think Al Gore would have to say about that? Hell, ask Tipper, she�s probably struggling to put on a pair as we speak. Struggling to put on pantyhose should be a proper legal defense, right along with insanity.

Anyway, I also got hit with having to buy four new tires for Trixie, so she�s a little bitch in my book right now. The old tires only had 17K miles on them, WTF??

And then, and then, LackLuster is making mepay for a disc that was not in the case when I rented it, and furthermore, I ran out of free exchanges for the month in their stupid �Total Access� plan because I�ve been watching, oh, at least a movie a day.

Oh, wah, it sucks to be me and all that.

On the other hand, if all that counts for three, then I should be okay for a while. And anyway, I�ve got it pretty good otherwise, ne? I mean, after all, I have the Frankenstein belly to prove it. Like is good. Now if all the foods I like could suddenly become negative caloric, I�d be riding the high life.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones