Knitwits vs. Nitwits
Monday, Oct. 22, 2007 at 9:42 a.m.

On This Day in 1844, Jesus Christ fails to appear to the Seventh Day Adventists, led by Bible scientist William Miller. The Millerites were expecting the End Times to accompany the appearance of the Savior, so that didn't happen either.

Now I�m reminded of those Southwest Airlines� commercials . . . or even better, those Twix� commercials. I can just see ol� Bill shoving a Twix� in his maw to buy time before all his followers (the ones that sold all their material possessions to follow his hare-brained scheme) lynch him.

I got lots of pictures today. I decided to show off what I�ve been knitting in the weeks of recuperation. First of all, there�s lots of dishcloths:

That one was a bit of a pain. The pattern is called �dayflower� and came from Smarieknits on blogspot.

Yep, people are getting dishcloths this year for Christmas! Here�s another fun one . . . it�s the �Om� Dishcloth:

It even has 65 rows, which apparently has some sort of significance, although I couldn�t tell you what that is. It would make more sense to me if it had 42 rows, but then the pattern wouldn�t turn out so well. Perhaps I should create dishcloths that say �42� or have a dolphin on it or something.

I�ve also been working on a lightweight cardigan, as that�s all we need here in the near-lava fields of Arizona. Here�s the back:


It is one huge amount of knitting that went into the back alone! I went through 6 skeins of yarn on the back alone. I love the yarn though. It�s a cotton with a light metallic thread running through it. You can it better in the close up of the back:

Here are the sleeves in progress. I�ve started the habit of knitting both sleeves at the same time, since they�re just alike and all. Right now I�m in a spot of stockinette stitch for about another 50 rows so I�m a bit bored:

And I have to wait for more yarn anyway, since I grossly underestimated how much damn yarn this would take! There�s an incentive to lose weight � so I won�t have to buy so much yarn! And knitting a sweater like this won�t take so long! Gads.

Oh, and another Gads has to go to the County Attorney�s office and Sheriff Joe Arpaio here in AZ � did you hear about this? They subpoenaed the local alternative paper, The New Times (which does have an amusing agenda against Sheriff Joe) for not only all their information and documents regarding their investigations against Sheriff Joe, but also information about all the readers that visit the New Times website, including cookies of previous pages visited by the readers and the IP address of those readers!

Can you imagine?

I immediately started googling subjects like �How To Slaughter a Human Being� and �Bert is Evil� and �Potluck Recipes of the Ku Klux Klan� and then going to the New Times website.

Collect information on me, willya? Then I�ll give you something to read about, you pot-bellied maniac.

This, on top of the county spending $500K on a another supposed attempt on Sheriff Joe�s life that turned out to be yet another hoax.

I tell you what, Mr. County Attorney, why don�t you start collecting the IP addresses of the people supposedly making up these plots and seeing how many of them lead right back to a certain Sheriff�s office??

Anyway, the Goldwater Institute jumped right down the county attorney�s throat and the whole thing was dropped. After, of course, the owners of the New Times cooled their heels in jail because they printed the entirety of the subpoena in their paper.

Gads, indeed.

Gads also to Southern California! Holy cow, there�s fire everywhere! I hope all of you guys stay safe over there. If you need to run somewhere, I suppose you can come over here to Arizona. I�ll teach you how to knit so maybe you can finish my cardigan sleeves for me. Just don�t google anything subversive; you never know who may be looking. Take care over there!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones