TH13: Little Things That Bring Me Joy
Thursday, Sept. 06, 2007 at 10:06 a.m.

1. Finding money where you didn�t expect it, like in the bottom of your purse after you clean it out.

2. Lying down for the first time on fresh, clean sheets.

3. Having a purring cat curl up next to you while you�re sleeping.

4. Touching baby hair.

5. Drinking cold water after being outside on a hot day.

6. Watching a terrible storm out your window while you�re all wrapped up warm and fuzzy.

7. Comfortable soft socks, fresh out of the dryer.

8. Singing show tunes really loud.

9. The dry, slightly musty smell of the back shelves of a library.

10. The smell of anything baking.

11. Licking the bowl, the beaters, the spatula, or even just eating some batter because you like it and your mom isn�t around to tell you no.

12. Writing on the top sheet of a brand-new pad of paper.

13. The fruity smell of children�s markers.

You notice, of course, that many of those are smell related, and we all know that smells trigger probably the strongest emotional response in us. Tactile things, for me, are also very strong, probably since I work so much with my hands, even though I�ve given up scenic painting for good. My friend L asked me yesterday if I was interested in painting a skyline for the local community theatre . . . and the answer was a resounding no. I suppose I still feel a little burned from the Hair experience. Which is a shame. I always hated the whole �give an inch, take a mile� approach to treating volunteers. Or anyone, for that matter.

In health-related news, I am awaiting the call to schedule my surgery. I keep everyone updated although I have no intention of telling my mother anything unless I absolutely have to. She loves the concept of taking care of someone else other than my father, but her idea of taking care of me after my last surgery is making me go shopping with her every day. Also, my sarcoid is still completely out of control, which prompted the Dr. D to up my prednisone intake again, and I feel like I�m starving to death every moment of the day. Urgh. However, on a more positive note, the new anti-depressant I�m taking has really controlled the screaming wobblies, although it�s still discouraging to watch myself blow up like a balloon from the prednisone.

Hubster, on the other hand, is still malingering from his cold and is decongesting gallons of snot a day. He is snoring like an asthmatic heifer every single night. I�m ready to make him eat a jar of horseradish to burn out all that crap.

We did go to see The Bourne Ultimatum and rather enjoyed it even with all the hand-held camera action. Hubster gets motion sickness and I think he got a little urpy about half-way through. We both decided that Matt Damon is a much more pleasant action hero than, say, Tom Cruise, and we�re pretty sure Matty doesn�t think he�s infested with aliens. Just the whole thought of Tom Cruise makes me twitchy.

Kind of like this makes me twitchy:

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones