Roller-Skating in a Buffalo Herd
Monday, Aug. 13, 2007 at 8:44 a.m.

On This Day in 1521, after an 80-day siege, Spanish conquistador Hernando Cort�s captures Tenochtitlan, capital of the Aztec Empire. When the Spaniards fail to discover Montezuma's treasure, they torture Cuauhtemoc by pouring hot oil over his feet. The emperor responds by asking, "Am I on a bed of roses?" They hang him three years later.

Um, yeah, that�s an interesting response . . . I�m pretty sure I�d just be screaming �AAAUUUUGGGHHH!!� but then I don�t think I have that kind of pain tolerance. I do have a modicum of pain tolerance, as proved by the fact that I am carting around a 4� diameter endometrioma with the consistency of axel grease in my abdomen, but I�m usually not a happy camper about it, as the Hubster will happily testify. I also recently threw a wobbly because my sarcoid, which I thought was under control, came roaring back with inflamed lymph nodes, harsh wheezing, and the added joy of skin plaques on my legs, arms, and back, so now I look like I have measles. And it�s 110* out, and I sure as heck don�t want to wear long pants. So now I�m back on an increased amount of steroids, sigh.

Yes, I would like some cheese with that whine. Reisling, please, or Chardonnay. Something a little sweet.

Other than that, I went on yet another anti-depressant/anti-anxiety medication which seems to be doing a little better than the previous trial med, as I haven�t thrown a wobbly yet, but then, I haven�t been down to see my mother yet. That�s later this week. We�ll see what happens when the Hubster and I touch down in Florida. I�m preparing myself for a continued decrease of my father�s mental capabilities. I have brought up the subject of them moving out here so Dad could avail himself to the VA hospital, which does have a full in-patient and long-term patient facility. However, on this trip, I do want to concentrate a bit on getting someone over to buy out the tools and things from my father�s workshop � even he admits he really can�t be using those tools anymore, and the workshop is going to fall over any day now.

The main reason we�re going, though, is for the �rent�s 40th anniversary � Yay Them! � and the funny coincidence is that a big bar/restaurant complex downtown is also celebrating their 40th anniversary, and they�re going to have a huge Sunday brunch with a jazz band, so we�re all going to that. Fun!

In other news, the Hubster and I bit the bullet and bought a used-but-excellent-condition pool table at a yard sale. It�s being delivered tomorrow, so we had to do some quick moving-about of furniture in our front room, a formal living room that�s designed specifically for a grand piano � or, in our case, a regulation-size pool table. We�re so excited! It�s technically our 4th anniversary gift to each other, as the traditional gift is wood. Pool tables are made of wood. It works for us. We still have to wait a while for the anniversary gifts to be plasma TVs or a Jacuzzi�. Bugger. On the other hand, I did get goofy enough last night to create a new song for the Hubster. See if you can�t guess the familiar yet totally inappropriate tune for the following lyrics:

Hubster�s sexy, yes, by far
And he�s got a sexy car
When I don�t put out, he gets mean
But when I do, he makes me scream

Oh yes, Hubster�s sexy
Yes, Hubster�s sexy
Yes, Hubster�s sexy
And he likes to fuck.

So yes, we�re doing fine, despite my spotty updates here. I�ve been watching movies and knitting up a storm. Our good friends are moving to Chicago, so I�m working on hats and scarves for them, and I need to do some get-well foofie slippers. The most alarming thing, though, is that I�m running low on pictures, so I will have to curtail some of my Pogo addiction and do some web-surfing in order to keep bringing you high-quality, high-taste images such as this:

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones