Are you telling me you don't see the connection between government and laughing at people??
Monday, Jul. 16, 2007 at 8:09 a.m.

Well, yay, it was another quiet weekend in the casa Valkyrie, unless you take into account the screaming good rolls in the hay that were had.

I got new meds, what can I say?

I didn�t get the med I asked for, mostly because I usually see a PA and not a full fledged doc, but if what I got doesn�t work for me, I can see one of the other docs on staff who can get me the old-school tri-cyclic drug really good stuff. But right now, the happy Lilly� version is working better than the Prozac, which was what I needed.

Hubster and I finally decided on a tile for the laundry room and hallway, so I spent a bit of time ripping out the nasty-ass carpet and padding while the Hubster pulled out the tack strips. We haven�t started laying tile yet, because we need to pick out a mosaic threshold to act as a border between the new tile and the old tile before we can lay out the pattern. Then, and only then, will the Hubster put me to work. Yeah, it�s my project because I tiled over 600 square feet in my old condo, and this will be a cinch because I�m not using odd-sized handpainted-with-celtic-designs tiles, 2 different sizes of regular tiles, and areas of broken tiles done in a mosaic.

Like I said, simple. I remember doing the other floor (which took months, it seems) and I threw a wobbly one night because most of my furniture was piled in the dining area and I was eating Spaghettios� out of a plastic dish while sitting on a lawnchair, and I was so tired of being on my knees all weekend long.

Here�s a first: I stopped watching a movie because it was bad. Normally, bad is one of my movie-watching pre-requisites, but it turns out that only works if the movie was made before 1985, in which case it�s retro bad (which is of course, a very different and totally acceptable, nay, preferred sort of bad), but if the movie is made in 2000-whatever and it�s still bad, well, it�s getting kicked out of the player. The movie in question that didn�t make the grade was Blackwater Valley Exorcism, and I�ve been getting into the exorcism movies lately after watching The Exorcism of Emily Rose which was actually fairly good (not great, of course, but after The Exorcist everything is just a pale copy) � but this Blackwater thing was just pure-D bad, even with the disemboweled rabbit at the beginning. I think what did it for me was when Isabel, the possessed girl, jumped up from the floor, and I could see the line of where her leg makeup stopped. Yeah, I don�t think so.

Another movie recently watched which came very close to getting kicked out of the player was Dagon, based on HP Lovecraft�s short story that I can�t remember the name of, but fortunately I stuck it out and was rather pleasantly surprised. When I listened to the commentary the director mentioned that at a horror film festival the (the) Christopher Lee commented that it was an excellent adaptation of HP Lovecraft, and well, you can�t get better praise for a little horror film than the great Christopher Lee, can you? How can you not love that man? Or his voice? And he put up a decent fight against Yoda, for chrissakes. It would have been good to see him kicking the crap out of the Shire but after over 6 hours of watching hobbits running around, damn, I was happy for the ending I got.

I don�t know if Darth Vader really wanted this to be his legacy, though:

Ta!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones