Tootin' My Own Damn Horn
Monday, Jul. 02, 2007 at 8:46 a.m.

Hello my chickybabies!

The Hubster and I racked up some good karma this weekend as we went down to Tucson to visit with the ILs. They�re in the process of packing up to move to the PROPERTY up in North CA (where they have purchased land with the Hubster�s bubba P and the SIL C) and their house is currently on the market. It�s an older house, and they�ve lived in it for 47 years, so it needed a bit of sprucing up, and I spent the weekend being Painter Babe and Paint Roller Dominatrix and slammed out 2 rooms, a closet, and the freezer alcove (which culminated in my actually climbing on top of the freezer to paint the cove moulding above), meanwhile barking out orders to the Hubster and the FIL (Clean that mini-blind! Take down that light fixture! Tape off the next room!) which the Hubster unquestioningly followed and left the FIL muttering under his breath and subsequently escaping to the solitude of FreeCell. Which worked just fine with me, as it got him out from underfoot.

Now, the FIL has delusions of grandeur that he�s going to build his own extremely green and energy-efficient home on the new property, and I can�t get him to clean the dead bugs out of a light fixture? Yeah, like that�s going to happen. The MIL knows better (and so she should, being married to the bloke for 54 years).

The good part about this is, well, hopefully it will help sell the house, and the Hubster and I have been getting first crack at the �stuff� that the MIL wants to part with. The ILs have some very nice things, and the Hubster got all the good ceramic and terracotta planters as well as a buttload of well-established cacti and succulents (although we did refrain from pulling out the 4-ft tall saguaro in the front yard. MIL offered, but we�d need a permit and a 4-ft saguaro weighs as much as a car. Ditto with the 30-year-old barrel cactus the size of, well, a barrel). MIL gave me her citrus juicer, which weighs a ton but has worked for the past 25 years, and a waffle maker, because I didn�t have one. Not that I make waffles, but I make grilled cheese sandwiches a lot. And every married woman should have a waffle maker. It�s compulsory. My mother has one that she has never ever used. It�s 40 years old and still virginal of batter. MIL also gave me her leftover candle making supplies, and then they gifted us with the miniature Remington bronze! Yikes! They must like us best out of all six kids. But then, we�re the only ones that offered to come over and paint their house. And we�ve never borrowed money from them.

So we got back yesterday afternoon, and I had an interesting email from the Universal Fanfiction Open:

Holy crap!

Check it out here and vote for me! The story is Every Day a Little Death in the Cowboy BeBop category. If you follow the links you can read the story. The voting is OPEN to all! Please vote for me!!! ** This is actually one of my favorite writings, and I suppose you have to be familiar with the anime to really get it, but I still think it�s fun. And it�s short. Please? Please?

I�ll love you and kiss you and then give you a freaky picture of a woman with tattoos on her head:

Oh, who am I kidding? You would have gotten that anyway.

**It looks like you can't vote for me because my story is the only one in that category but read it anyway and give me love. I could use some love. Gotta tell Hubster I could use some love. Mmmm. Love.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones