I don't want the two dollars back, just him
Monday, Jun. 25, 2007 at 10:20 a.m.

Conversation with Hubster:

Valkyrie: You do know what the two greatest Commandments are, right?
Hubster: Um . . . don�t kill anyone?
Valkyrie: The two greatest commandments are: Love the Lord with all your heart, mind, soul, and strength. The other is to love your neighbor as you love yourself.
Hubster: Yeah, but what if you�re suicidal? Does that allow you to kill your neighbor, since you�re willing to kill yourself?
Valkyrie: Man, you�re going to spend eternity all by yourself in Hell.
Hubster: Maybe then I�ll get some sleep.

So Hair finally opened and I�ve seen it twice so far. The kids do a very good job with some hard music and a lot of concepts that I know is hard for a 20-ish-something to wrap their heads around (I even had to explain the concept of GROK to them for heaven�s sakes) and while no one gets naked � with the exception of one bare ass from the young man who is playing Berger, who is a delightful young man and . . . oh, who am I kidding? He�s gorgeous and yummy looking. Now I see the validity in being a cougar. Rowr! I don�t have any pictures of the kids in the show, but here are some pictures of the walls:

I know they�re kind of hard to read. I have quite a few close-ups as well. I just wanted to give a feel for the size of the walls (20 feet high!) and all the work that had to be done. It also warmed the cockles of my heart to see people go down during intermission and after to read the walls and point and talk about what the sayings meant.

It reminded me of the time I designed the set for The Trip to Bountiful which I think was my Master�s thesis, and the whole process was very stressful. If you�re not familiar to the play, an old woman runs away from her son and daughter-in-law to go back to the �home place� in a little Texas town of Bountiful. When I designed the set, everything was very sparse with little furnishings. The large scenic elements were these huge paintings of photographs that hung high and behind the set that showed where the scene was taking place. When she actually reached Bountiful, I designed the front porch of an old house, but the paintings were of the rest of the house and the surrounding land, and were in the same plane as the rest of the scenery. Does that make sense? Anyway, when the curtain rose for the third act and showed that scene, there was a gasp in the audience, and I know I heard PL say, �Oh, lovely.�

And it made the whole thing worth it.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones