It's What They Call the Ring-Dang-Doo
Monday, Apr. 30, 2007 at 8:43 a.m.

On This Day in 1945, Newlyweds Adolf Hitler and Eva Braun kill themselves in the charming and romantic Fuhrerbunker, ending all hope for a ten-thousand-year Reich.

Couldn�t have happened to a nicer couple, ne?

Anyhoo, the Hubster and I had a lovely weekend. I scored a two-night stay at a Phoenix hotel � which had the dubious distinction of being the hotel right next to work. Literally. I locked up my car and walked 500 feet down the hill and I was in the lobby. Pffftt. But it was a nice hotel with a pool and a spa. We also received warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in, but they also had oatmeal. Oatmeal! I like oatmeal, but putting oatmeal in cookies is a waste of a good cookie. And don�t get me started on raisins.

We spent Saturday at the zoo, and since we got there early we saw most of the animals. The baboons were even sitting right in the windows of their enclosure so we got to talk with them up close. They looked at us like we were crazy, and then presented their behinds to us. Yikes! One of the new exhibits at the zoo is a walk-in spider monkey sanctuary, where the little creatures got right next to us in their trees. The youngsters were playing their version of �hangman� � basically, the last one hanging on to the rope wins. The best part of the zoo, though, was a temporary stingray pool where we could reach in and pet the rays. We had done this before at the Long Beach aquarium and loved it. The rays are so soft, like wet velvet. We had extra fun this time because we got the feed the rays! We put little bits of fish between our fingers and held our hands down like we were asking for a �low five� and the little guys would come over and vacuum our hands! It was so cool, like hand-feeding a horse that had no teeth. I would love to learn how to dive so I could go diving with manta rays. That would be ginchy.

Saturday afternoon there was a huge dust storm that hit the whole valley. We were in the pool at the time, and a security guard yelled at us to get out, and all the tourists went a little nuts. We calmed down our fellow elevator passengers with the explanation that a dust storm is just like a blizzard � but with dust. If we were lucky, there�d be a big-ass thunderstorm right after it. There wasn�t a thunderstorm, but instead there was just enough rain to cover everyone�s cars with mud. When we got home on Sunday, the good Hubster washed both of our cars. What a guy!

This week is pretty standard, except that I�m putting together another reception for the confirmadants at church. Their ceremony is Tuesday night and I still have quite a bit to do to prepare for it. Nothing like leaving everything to the last minute, eh? At least the cakes are on order and should be ready this afternoon. And then I have to work on Sunday, so I better make sure I�ve got a stash of movies in. I started another little sweater over the weekend and am nearly half-way done . . . Well, a good portion of the weekend was also taken up by watching cable in the hotel. We don�t have cable. And it seemed there was a Mega Movers marathon on, so Hubster was glued to the screen. I don�t have a working digital camera at the moment, so I can�t post the progress . . . I should get a new camera. I�m going the full nine when I get to upgrade my phone and I�m getting the phone with a camera, digital video, and mP3 capabilities. It�s time for me to be plugged into the 21st century.

Yo.

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones