Pork Roast with Mango Chutney
Wednesday, Apr. 18, 2007 at 8:48 a.m.

On This Day in 1955, Nobel Prize recipient Albert Einstein dies in his hospital bed from a ruptured aortic aneurysm. Seven hours later, his brain is plunked into a jar of formalin and taken away by the pathologist. It will remain missing for 23 years.

Why do people take those kinds of souvenirs? It�s not as if you can make money on it. You can�t exactly put Einstein�s brain in with the collection at The Thing? in Dragoon, Arizona. (The Thing? is an Arizona roadside attraction hyped by signs along Interstate 10 between El Paso, Texas, and Tucson, Arizona. Teaser ads, such as The Thing? What is it? and Mystery of the Desert, entice travelers along this sparse stretch of desert highway to pull in just to find out what the mysterious Thing? might be.) I�ve been to The Thing? and I know what The Thing? is. But I�m not going to tell you. I will tell you that after driving I-10 across 900 miles of Texas, you�ll want to stop and pay a dollar to see anything. Or is that Anything?

So anyway, one of the bigwigs was here at work; that is, the PABB�s boss, and I got an opportunity to speak to him regarding the PABB and her PABB-like behavior, which is not conducive to my utopian and PABBdom-free workplace. Truly, it�s sad to think that work is so much happier when she�s not here. Of course, that�s probably typisch of most workplaces, but in our case it seems that the general workflow is not disturbed whatsoever by her absence. The bigwig was surprised and concerned when I told him that I had seen the PABB only 5 minutes out of the past three weeks, and on more than one occasion, she has informed us that she will be in the office at a certain time and then never materializes, nor does she call. He was also informed of The Backpack Incident (and no, I still don�t wish to elaborate on that) and he nodded and smiled a lot. Yeah, I know nothing�s going to happen.

In other news, I told the Hubster that he�s cooking dinner tonight. I actually told him this yesterday morning so he�d have time to plan, since I�ve been cooking dinner every night since . . . oh, 2003. Yes, I know that�s not a long time, but we�re still newlyweds. . . �ish. I�m going shopping at the great and wonderful Joann�s fabrics after the gym. I have about a dozen 40% and 50% off coupons to burn, and Joann�s is wonderful about using as many coupons as possible in a single transaction. I need to get in some more supplies for my continuing reception-hostess project at church, namely, cake servers.

Why the hell is it so hard to find a cake server? I�m talking about the ones that have a slightly serrated edge to cut with and a flat bit to scoop up the cake slice and deliver it to a plate. They can also be called pie servers, I suppose. My mother�s house is lousy with them. I think she has at least three. The last reception I put together for the church, I could find any cake servers, and I have only one, so I made a mad search for cake servers, finding only one at a dollar store that was so flimsy I was concerned it would just collapse in half. Of course, I eschewed the $19.99 ones at the specialty cookware store. I�m not paying $40 so other people can eat cake. I�m hoping that the lovely Joann�s has cake servers in with all the Wilton stuff. Although I just checked the website and I didn�t find one. Crapola.

At least I go to reputable shops to find my church reception supplies. I wonder what kind of reception this guy is shopping for:

I suppose I really could just improvise, though, like this guy:

I could also just ask this guy. Who knows what he�s got squirreled away in there?

Oh, wait, have I gone insane? What guy knows what a cake server is? It�s not like they know what a ramekin is. Or a melonballer. Or a laundry hamper.

Ta!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones