Everywhere a freak-freak!
Thursday, Mar. 29, 2007 at 8:11 a.m.

On This Day in 1997, Kazuo Konya, a former member of the Aum cult, tells Tokyo Municipal Court that he paid $8,100 for the privilege of drinking the guru Shoko Asahara's blood in a 1988 initiation ritual. Other former cult members also testify they paid for blood, strands of Shoko Asahara's hair, and his bath water. Some say they paid $2,400 for an intravenous injection of an unknown substance. Ironically, all throughout, Asahara preached to his followers that they should renounce materialism.

Shoko Asahara constructed the Aum Shinrikyo doomsday cult with assets on the order of $1.5B. Aasahara rants on the conspiracy of Judeo-Freemasons from America attempting to control the world with oily meats and junk foods. (Note that when Asahara was arrested, deep friend prawns were found in his refrigerator.) Aum dabbles in numerous scary ventures, including nerve gas (sarin released in Tokyo subway, 1995), Tesla weapons based on harmonic resonance (according to a U.S. Senate October 1995 report), and acquisition of nuclear material (by attempting to buy warheads from ex-Soviet states, and an attempt to purchase a Uranium mine in Australia). With such assets, the group is definitely in the same league as the Church of Scientology. Asahara is currently jailed in Japan, probably forever.

As he should be.

Well, when I got home yesterday evening, little lost kitty had left, hopefully back home or a new place where she could be cared for. Hubster was neck-deep in taxes, probably regretting to the very core of his soul (if he has one, he�s an engineer, and do they have souls?) that he took on the task of doing the taxes himself this year. I absolve next year, to tally up all the deductions quickly and efficiently to give him more time.

Yeah, right.

Today I am sans the PABB at work, so I get to knit and watch movies, but the problem is I don�t have new movies to watch. Well, I have one, but I must remember to pace myself otherwise I won�t have 12 hours of constant entertainment to keep me occupied while I sit here on Saturday. I�ll have to get a long movie from the store. Like Ran or The Seven Samurai. I just remembered, though, that I have at least 4 really really really bad movies tucked away in the cubby in my cube. Let�s take a look at those titles.

Actually, what I had tucked away in there was the CD The Cult Files, which is a compilation of theme songs from TV and movies such as Blake�s Seven, The Exorcist, and Somewhere in Time. Hey, I�ve never seen Somewhere in Time. Isn�t that the one with Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour and he travels backwards in time to meet her based on a painting he saw?

Well, damn, since I know the whole movie, why bother?

What else? I have the PC game Diablo, the original from 1995, which only requires Windows 95 �. That�s still pretty cool although it does get boring after 6 hours or so. Oh cool! I have the 2-hour premiere of Twin Peaks! This is a Chinese import or bootleg or something! I loved this show and watched it religiously. I�ve even been to the town where they filmed the opening shot of the waterfall and to the lodge and even the diner. Snoqualmie Falls, WA, by the way. Shout-out to that town. Go visit. It�s really a nice place.

I also have one of those Double-Feature discs you can get from a dollar store, which boldly pronounces �Digitally Remastered!� The first feature is I Eat Your Skin. Well, that sounds pleasant (and certainly like some kind of crap I�d watch). The description reads:

A companion to I Drink Your Blood -- not really. Originally titled Voodoo Blood Bath, this film about a mad scientist creating radioactive monster on a remote island was purchased 7 years after it was made and then retitled. No cannibalism

Why call a movie I Eat Your Skin if it�s not about cannibalism? Or is it more like that really creepy kind of skin eating, the kind of eating the skin that you peel off after a sunburn?

EWWWWWWWWWWW!

And regarding the original title, Voodoo Blood Bath, I fail to see what that has to do with radioactive monsters. Anyway, the other flick on this disc is Scared to Death, which actually seems fairly watchable:

The legendary Bela Lugosi stars in this sub B horror film about a woman who narrates the story of her own death from the morgue. Of interest chiefly because it is one of only two color films Lugosi appeared in, Scared to Death nonetheless features an excellent performance from its star, and laughable performances from the rest of the cast.

Hmm, dead bodies telling their story. There are no more original ideas.

But this is certainly an original marketing ploy:

TA!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones