PSSS: Post Sticker Shock Stress Syndrome
Monday, Mar. 26, 2007 at 8:41 a.m.

On This Day in 1830, Joseph Smith publishes The Book of Mormon, after translating it from golden plates turned over by the angel Moroni. Smith maintained that the text contained in the tablets were written in "Reformed Egyptian" which he read by means of two magic stones from the Old Testament, the Urim and Thummim.

And underwear, for certain people, will never be the same again.

Our weekend was filled with activity. We went down to the ILs house and came back with a few things and I was actually much better about saying �no� to things than the Hubster was, but then again they are his parents and there are certain things that he�d like to have and other objects that have more sentimental value to him then they ever would to me. One of the items was an antique oscillating fan, one of those that didn�t really have a guard on it so it doesn�t prevent your entire hand from being bitten by the big metal blade. We also came back with some vintage McDonald�s items that I�m sure will end up on an eBay near you.

Next time, we�ll take both cars and not the dog.

Most of Sunday was taken up by the Hubster having an early Mid-Life Crisis� and the acquisition of one of these:

Yes, he got a brand-new, 2006 Nissan 350Z. In silver. All 300 horsepower of it. I was with him and he�s been researching this car, and I told him he can buy whatever car he wanted because that was all the mid-life crisis he was allowed to have.

So, this morning (Monday) he�s looking kind of dazed (this was after he spent a good part of last evening sitting in the car figuring out all the bells and whistles) and I asked him what was up.

Hubster: I didn�t sleep too well.
Valkyrie: Why not?
Hubster: The car.
Valkyrie: What about the car?
Hubster: Dear god, what did I do?

I�m guessing that the $$$ factor finally hit him, mostly because he didn�t think about the cost of the extended warranty (which in a high-performance car like this is almost mandatory � a simply brake job could be upwards of $1200) and the costs of the dual anti-theft system (especially since our state has the distinction of being #1 for auto theft) which jacked up the price another 10K. So I hugged him and told him that we would make it work. Coz that�s what you do, right? You make the right decision or you make the decision right, right?

Anyway, I just bunged Hubster an email, asking if the shock has alleviated any. I�m sure that when he gets to work and all the guys see the new car, he�ll feel better.

Otherwise, I am well, and the strange thing is that the inhalers I�ve been using have completely removed all my wheezing. In fact, I�ve taken myself off the prednisone (yes, against doctor�s orders, whatever) and I don�t wheeze at all. My breath capacity is still compromised, but that�s going to be a permanent fact of life for me. Has my sarcoid actually burned itself out? Are the inhalers actually more efficacious against my sarcoid? One thing I do know, I actually feel full after I eat these days and the dreaded �moon-face� is slimming down. Keep your fingers crossed for me. Perhaps I will be one of the lucky ones, that I will actually be delivered from sarcoidosis.

No, I said cross your fingers!


|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones