Mariette Overstimulates Friendly Adaptation
Monday, Mar. 19, 2007 at 9:20 a.m.

On This Day in 1982, the guitarist for Ozzy Osbourne, Randy Rhoads, dies during the Diary of a Madman tour after the plane he is flying in buzzes the band's tour bus and clips the wing of the plane, crashing into a nearby farmhouse.

I�m sorry, but that�s just really kind of funny. In a whoops sort of way. My design professor at Alabama said that he never minded hearing someone yell, �Shit!� while building a set, because that usually meant that the yeller made a dumb, but fixable, mistake. Hearing someone say, �Oops� sent his heart a-flutter because that usually meant that something was screwed up beyond the point of no return.

Anyway, the life la Valkyrie has had a small amount of intrigue recently . . . last week a mandatory meeting was set up from everyone in my office, and the phone calls were actually rolled over into another office which is never done � we�re the office that handles everyone else�s calls while they have their Margarita Madness or whatever � so this put up my radar. We all get shoehorned into the teeny conference room (not that we have another conference room, the only one we have has a capacity of 12 people) and the speaker phone goes on with the HMFIC in HR and we find out that the cops got called out the day before because illegal substances / contraband was found in one of the cubes.

Welladay!

Hey, I said �welladay� and you didn�t. Neener!

I had several questions in my mind, during this announcement and the subsequent �interview� that each of us were subjected to:

Is there anything in my cube that could be considered contraband?
Don�t we have a file cabinet full of beer?
(Once I learned what was found) Why was someone digging around in XYZ�s cube, anyway?

See, I have this �privacy� thing. I figure people can do pretty much whatever they want as long as they�re not hurting themselves or someone else. The only problem with that rule is people always want to set standards for what constitutes �hurting yourself�. What works for me won�t work for you, or you, or even you, and you know who you are. And that poor woman who has terminal cancer, yet the feds say she can�t use her doobie which she believes is the only thing that is helping her feel like a human being part of the time � you know, if you�re dying, I figure all bets are off. When else is it a better time to try out LSD or angel dust or any of that other stuff than when you�re dying already? At least go out with a total trip, man.

Anyway. The only reasons I don�t do the wacky weed anymore is because:

1) It�s still stupidly illegal
2) I already have a weight problem and I really can�t afford to be snacking like that

Also, I had to work all day Saturday � a whole 12 hours. Bleah! Combine that with the fact that the AC in the building was down and it made for a not-so-pleasant day. However, we did have the portable AC units blowing into our cubicles so as long as we didn�t move around to much it was okay. However, moving the six feet to the kitchen was like walking into . . . well, a recent day in Phoenix. We�re thrilled over here because now we�re having a cooling trend, and it�s only going to be 88* today. But I did get to watch a few movies.

Margaret Cho: Assassin: Damn but this woman is funny. I know a lot of people don�t like her because she speaks her mind about politics and society. My only complaint about this show is that she only had one �phone call� from her mother.

The Magnificent Seven: Can you name all seven? Without using imdb.com? And no, Eli Wallach was not one of the seven. They don�t make �em like this anymore.

Murders of Hollywood: Well, this was supposed to be a documentary about some of the most scandalous murders in Hollywood, which on the surface it was, but the whole feature (weighing in at 60 minutes) was nothing more that E! True Hollywood Story �Lite�. I mean, the images shown looked like they were photographs of a television screen. And the narrator, who also was the producer, director, writer, cameraman, craft services, and best boy, had the voice of a flat oboe, with as much inflection as a bullfrog with gout. Crimelibrary.com is much more interesting. I think this guy made this movie as a school project. And my grade for this guy is C-.

Right now I have a disc full of Cab Calloway movies and then I really get into the thick of some really bad cinema, starting with Nine Lives of Fritz the Cat. I think I better not watch that one at work.

Just like the following tattoo is one that probably shouldn�t be visible if you work, say, at Albertson�s:

Yeep!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones