Stayin' a Slave to the Metal!
Monday, Feb. 19, 2007 at 9:05 a.m.

On this day in 1998, Lt. Col. Larry Wayne Harris (Aryan Nations) and William Leavitt are arrested in Henderson, NV for possession of the biological toxin Anthrax, military grade, enough to kill an entire city. Their Mercedes is hermetically sealed by authorities and brought to Nellis Air Force Base in Nevada for hazmat.

Yoicks. How in the world did they get their hands on so much Anthrax? Why would someone keep such a stash of thrash-metal rock and roll?

Oh. I guess they mean the disease, not these guys:

Rock on, Joey! Woot!

Anyhoo, hello kids. How have you been? La Valkyrie has been running backwards and sideways, it seems, lately. Last week I had some sort of do every night of the week, which meant that the good Hubster had to go back to his bachelor ways of eating out every single night. He also eats out for lunch every single day, while I sit at my desk, schlurping down another 25-cent-Cup Noodle. Where is the equality in that? On the other hand, I do get my nails done every two weeks, so I suppose it all comes out in the wash anyway.

Speaking of wash, how is it that when the Hubster does laundry, he manages to do it in only 3 loads, whereas I take at least 5 loads? Oh, yes, that�s right. It has to do with the fact that I don�t wash my bras with his jeans. I know he meant well, but then that means I have to buy more bras, which is a chore I honestly don�t relish. I�d rather order about 10 different styles and sizes from the internet and then try them on in the comfort of my bedroom.

Anyway, the only reason I didn�t do the laundry was that I attended a �Day of Reaffirmation� or something at church for all Eucharistic Ministers and Lectors, which I am � a lector, that is. I used to be an EM at my church way back in grad school but I really preferred being a lector. Why? Well, I read well. I know I do. I can read just about anything cold and make it sound good. I also have voice training and all with my Theatre degree. Unfortunately, I felt like an utter cad about halfway through the day because I don�t work at being a lector like I�m apparently supposed to � I should be looking up my readings on the Catholic Bishops� website and rewriting it and practicing and all. And I don�t. The other people in my group go on about how much they work at it and how they felt called to be a lector, etc. On the other hand, I feel like that because I do have this talent, I should use it in a way to be grateful for my blessings. Sister Rose always said �He who sings prays twice�, and I�ve been told that people like listening to me, so I guess I�ll just shrug it off and keep doing what I�m doing, because it seems to work for me.

So the Hubster and I will be trotting off to the southeast to visit my �rents and spend a little bit of time in my old stomping grad-school ground, although I�m sure it�s all been changed in the past ten years. A lot of the time you can�t go home again, and I hit that one awful hard when Hubster and I, on a previous trip, went trotting across my undergrad campus in the hopes and promise of cheap, greasy pizza and beer and pinball machines and pool tables at the old dark and musty Rathskeller, the student union haunt, only to find that it had been transformed into a pale blue smoothie bar.

Bleah.

Honestly, what the hell? There�s supposed to be a Rathskeller on every campus where students retreat to after trying to cram for old man Micklovich�s Modern European History exams and drown your sorrows and pick a fight and play pool until the wee hours of the morning. Not a place that�s bright and pale blue and smelling of fruit and burnt coffee with far too many lights. What the smeg is happening on our campuses? Are we no longer churning out bitter hung-over photosensitive unshaven heavy metal sneering lurching beer guzzlers in favor of peppy bow-head coffee over-achiever double-shot-lactose-free Justin Timberlake 00-blade-shorn-faced hip stubble new car driving simps?

Crap! I�m going to remain Armed and Dangerous thank you very much!


|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones