THE ALARM IS ACTIVATED AND IT IS GOING TO BURST
Monday, Jan. 22, 2007 at 8:32 a.m.

On this day in 1918, Manitoba, Canada film censor board decides to ban comedies, on the grounds that they make audiences "too frivolous".

Because, God knows, no one should expend any frivolity during The Great War. Heaven forbid. Buy War Bonds. Now. Or we�ll set fire to your Victory Garden.

Conversation with Hubster:

Hubster: Oh god, what piece-of-crap movie are you going to watch now?
Valkyrie: It�s called Naked Lunch.
Hubster: So do they really get naked? At lunch?
Valkyrie: No, this is based on a story by William S. Burroughs. It�s freaky, weird, bizarre, and has lots of bugs in it. Remember that movie I watched that you really hated, Eraserhead? This movie makes that one look like a student film.
Hubster: Oh, great.

Then we watched a good hour of this thing before the news and the Hubster was chuckling from time to time, and he was mildly impressed once I told him that Jamie from MythBusters worked on this film. Hubster did say �What the hell is that?� when we met the smoking Mugwhump.

Valkyrie: Wow. This movie was made in 1991! No CGI at all! Those effects are amazing!
Hubster: Yeah, it�s really well made, but it�s still a piece of crap.
Valkyrie: Don�t call this movie a piece of crap! This movie, and William Burroughs, is a huge icon of pop culture, no less than Jack Kerouac or Ken Kesey, or even Andy Warhol, or even the Beatles!
Hubster: Okay, first of all, don�t even think about bringing the Beatles into this, and second, iconic pop culture pieces of crap are still pieces of crap.
Valkyire: long pause Well, no one forced you to watch this.

And to retaliate, I made mac n�cheese for dinner. Take that!

Well, here at work we�ve been on the new schedule for about 2 weeks, which puts both A and I on a 36 hour/week schedule. It�s not the 32 hour/week schedule we both wanted (I wanted Tuesdays off, A wanted Fridays off, but we have to come in for a 4-hour shift on those days) but it�s at least workable, and already I�ve managed to leverage a full Tuesday off because I worked a Saturday 12-hour shift for someone else. It was only a matter of time, however, before A started her version of passive-aggressiveness by calling in sick at least one day a week.

So I�m alone here today, which is not so great because I have to process emails and listen for the phone, which curtails my knitting and movie-watching activities. And here I had almost mastered (or at least minored) in cables while knitting a new hat. After cables, I want to do some pictures and lettering, mostly because I want to knit headbands with little horns that say �Go Devils� or something like that for ASU students. The new sweater machine is sitting silent for now. I got frustrated with it � it seems to be very persnickety, or (more likely) I�m trying to move too quickly with the thing, and I ripped out about 4 inches of a scarf I�d been working on. However, it�s harder to put something you�ve ripped out on a machine than just needles, and it took me over an hour before I was ready to knit again. Patience, grasshopper, patience. Remember to make way for ducklings:

Remember that character is what counts:

And most of all, remember to follow directions when necessary:

And you�ll usually come up with the best result.

Ta!

|

before o after

I suppose �odiferous pinecones� doesn�t have a good ring to it - Monday, Oct. 31, 2011
Click below to find out what he called me - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Yeah, he really did call me that - Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2010
Click below to go nowhere either fast or slowly; your choice - Monday, Mar. 08, 2010
HELLLLLLLLLLO NURSE! - Friday, Mar. 05, 2010






before o after
newest
older
contact
notes
profile


The AntiCraft!
ArtGnome
A Witty Kitty
Chaos Daily
Erianne�s Insanity
Miss Hiss and Tell
I Miss My Sanity
Kung Fu Kitten
Mom on Roof
Poolagirl�s Tales of the HMS Pie-Rat
PyroGuy, Sr.
Requiel
The Running Man
SMarieK Knits
Smash the Gas
The Daily WTF
12% BEER (and Monkey Love)
Wilberteets
Yeah I�m a Dork

hosted by DiaryLand.com


-scotvalkyrie's knitting projects-
-scotvalkyrie's fanfiction-

I am Knitting Daily







Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones